Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Warning about Computer Hope  (Read 607 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

floccinaucini

    Topic Starter


    Beginner
  • Thanked: 1
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Warning about Computer Hope
« on: April 20, 2012, 06:37:16 PM »
Hello,

I was browsing from the following computer hope on-line web page, on a Google Chrome browser.
http://www.computerhope.com/search2.htm?cx=partner-pub-3999293766533555%3Aelr5q296e0z&cof=FORID%3A9&ie=ISO-8859-1&q=%2Fclick%20chat

When I clicked on one of the items to open that page, I received a warning from Google, that said some thing like this. "Computer Hope web site has content from (name of a web site), which is known to contain malware and you run the risk of infecting your computer, if you continue to use Computer Hope"

The message was much longer, but unfortunately this is all I can remember because I got out of there fast. Because I ran away so fast, I failed to take note of the website referred to. Hence my italics above. If this could be any help, I can remember that the name of this offending site that Google named, had the letter "l" recurring three times or more.

Please advice.

Thank you.
Loraine

evilfantasy

  • Malware Removal Specialist


  • Genius
  • Calm like a bomb
  • Thanked: 473
    • evilfantasy's blog
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: Warning about Computer Hope
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2012, 09:17:10 PM »
ParetoLogic had a file here at CH listed as malware a month ago (16-03-2012, 23:59:42 GMT (1 month ago) but the listing has been removed.



I received a warning from Google,

Was it from Google Safe Browsing that warned you? There are no active reports from Google for Computer Hope.

Safe Browsing
Diagnostic page for www.computerhope.com

CH is not showing any malware or blacklist listings.
http://www.unmaskparasites.com/security-report/?page=www.computerhope.com
http://sitecheck.sucuri.net/scanner/?scan=www.computerhope.com
http://www.urlvoid.com/scan/www.computerhope.com

Checking computerhope.com against 36 known blacklists...
Listed 0 times with 3 timeouts
http://www.mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx?action=www.computerhope.com


Without the link I'm not sure there is much more I can dig into for answers.


patio

  • Moderator


  • Specialist
  • Maud' Dib
  • Thanked: 1231
    • Yes
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: Warning about Computer Hope
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2012, 09:27:26 PM »
Since we're in the Malware removal field...and pretty good at it...any number of references that are stated here daily i'm sure would be flagged by a browser search engine...

If you are worried about getting infected from visiting this site then you are overthinking things.
   
"
All generalizations are false, including this one.  "

floccinaucini

    Topic Starter


    Beginner
  • Thanked: 1
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: Warning about Computer Hope
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2012, 08:00:41 AM »
Hello Evilfantacy,

No, I was not in safe browsing mode. Let me fill you up a bit more.

I had already connected to many of the links in the above page and had been browsing normally for about 20 minutes when this happened, and it happened only once. After your post here, I went back again and did the same but no warning this time. Could it have been a spurious message?

It is a pity I panicked and failed to note down the link.

Regards
Loraine

evilfantasy

  • Malware Removal Specialist


  • Genius
  • Calm like a bomb
  • Thanked: 473
    • evilfantasy's blog
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: Warning about Computer Hope
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2012, 11:11:15 AM »
It may have just been a glitch in the browser.

floccinaucini

    Topic Starter


    Beginner
  • Thanked: 1
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: Warning about Computer Hope
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2012, 11:25:28 AM »
Another related question. When logged on to 'Chat', is it possible for my computer to get infected through another user's computer, if that computer is carrying virus or malware etc.?

Regards.
Loraine

evilfantasy

  • Malware Removal Specialist


  • Genius
  • Calm like a bomb
  • Thanked: 473
    • evilfantasy's blog
  • Experience: Beginner
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: Warning about Computer Hope
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2012, 11:27:52 AM »
If you click on any links that are infected you can.

Malware does not just float around. It takes user interaction to put it on a computer. Normally by clicking on links or downloads.