Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: CD/DVD driver works and doesn't works sometimes?  (Read 14317 times)

aisaka

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    CD/DVD driver works and doesn't works sometimes?
    « on: October 21, 2011, 10:29:56 PM »
    Hello! It's my first time here! erm...I need some help with my cd/dvd driver. My cd/dvd drive can read and write some dvds and cds but sometimes, it can't read them at all and this is not even the problem of disc brands or whatever. I use the cd disc to burn data files and I always buy dvd movies so that I can watch them easily on my laptop. I think the problem started around this year and every time I try to put in the dvd disc, it would make this weird clacking noise and soft lasering sound. I tried putting in other dvd disc and some of them can play.
    vice versa for the cd discs too.

I've checked in the device manager to see if my burner is having any problems but no. It says that it's working perfectly and I've also updated both of the drivers. I bought a laser lens cleaner but it doesnt even work. I'm pretty sure that it's not broken yet, seeing that it can still play and write other dvds and cds. I also tried cleaning the discs but nothing is happening!!! I'm totally frustrated! I need to back up all my data files in the disc so that i can release more space in my hard disk. T_T

oh and I'm running on
    Compaq Presario CQ40-401AX, 32 bit
    Windows Vista Home Basic,
    with the driver TSST CORP CDDVDW TS L633L.

any help would be appreciated! :3

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    • Experience: Beginner
    Re: CD/DVD driver works and doesn't works sometimes?
    « Reply #1 on: October 22, 2011, 07:19:05 AM »
    If the drive is more than 3 years old chances are it's getting ready to fail...especially with intermittent issues.