Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: The Definitive Best Anti Virus Thread  (Read 320706 times)

Allan

Topic Starter

• Mastermind
  • Experience: Guru
The Definitive Best Anti Virus Thread
« on: December 22, 2011, 06:01:18 AM »
Okay, this question just comes up so often that I, for one, am tired of seeing it .So maybe we can try this: everyone who wants to give his or her opinion please do so here. Let's not argue about anything or question anyone else's choice, let's just state our preferences so those who want to read differing opinions can do so here. If you have very strong feelings about other programs (good or bad) go ahead and express them. Then when the question comes up in the future we can just point to this thread. One post per person should probably suffice (okay, wishful thinking ).

I'll start. I like Kaspersky Anti Virus. I've been using it for about 6 years. All new versions are free as long as you maintain your yearly license. Definitions are updated several times a day. It's always active and I also use it to scan incoming email. I use MalwareyBytes & SpywareBlaster for monthly on-demand scanning (neither remains resident) along with SpywareBlaster (updated weekly) to block known malicious sites. WinPatrol Plus is also resident on most of my systems. I can honestly say I've never had a virus on any system - and I started using PC's in 1985 and have owned and/or been responsible for scores of systems since then.