Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: How to configure Small office network ???  (Read 3217 times)

sailo

Topic Starter

Rookie

• Experience: Beginner
    How to configure Small office network ???
    « on: July 10, 2015, 04:33:35 AM »
    I have a little experience in networking  ;D ....

I used Dynamic IP address for my network
    I used to configure a network containing 40 computers with D-Link Modem and Switch, if i want one of the computer to disable internet connection, I used to unplug the Network cable from Switch..  :)

But now I setup Windows Server 2012 R2 for Server, and I want to control all the other computers that  use Windows 7 Ultimate.

I am tired of managing network with SWITCH cantrol.......... (unplug cable and plug the cable again)..

What i want to do is controlling all the computers by using the server (Win Server 2012 R2 - its my first time for using windows server)
    1). I want to control internet to restrict some website or disabling internet connection.
    2). I want to control file sharing ( does it need home group OR just sharing the folder/drive is enough?)

Do I need LAN Card (that has two Rj45 port) for controlling internet connection??

Please Help....
    And thanks in Advance

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: How to configure Small office network ???
    « Reply #1 on: July 10, 2015, 06:57:06 AM »
    You will need the server to have 2 network connections. The first will connect to the internet through hopefully a hardware firewall before the modem such as a router which has a built in firewall. The second network connection will connect to your internal network that all systems are on.