Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: What things affect my internet  (Read 2902 times)

Whitebeard1

Topic Starter

Intermediate

• Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Familiar
    What things affect my internet
    « on: September 10, 2015, 04:51:25 AM »
    Hey,
    I'm not familiar with internet/networking; in fact I have little to none knowledge on it.
    I've got a reasonably cheap modem and a decent computer(MacBookPro 13-inch).
    I've always wondered what affects my internet's speed, performance etc...
    Is it the modem that affects this the most? Or does the quality of the laptop affects the internet too? Or is there other factors?
    Like I said, I'm quite a newbie with internet/networks.
    Thanks.
    Computers follow your orders, not your intentions.

camerongray

Expert
      • Yes
      • Cameron Gray - The Random Rambings of a Computer Geek
    • Certifications: List
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: What things affect my internet
    « Reply #1 on: September 10, 2015, 05:05:45 AM »
    Generally the thing that affects it the most is stuff out with your control - The performance of your ISP's systems, any traffic management put in place by your ISP, the quality and length of line from you to your ISP (be it a coax cable or telephone line) the type of cable used (coax, copper twisted pair or fibre optic).  A modem can cause issues but it would have to be extremely outdated or faulty for this to be the case.  In most situations the network connection between your computer and the modem is going to be faster than your internet connection so this is rarely the issue.

Whitebeard1

Topic Starter

Intermediate

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2015, 06:38:08 AM »
      I see...thanks for the reply.
      So to improve my internet experience, would I basically choose ISPs that have high performance?
      Thanks.

DaveLembke

Sage