Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Physical or Cloud Database Server  (Read 2209 times)

TheMrMystery

Topic Starter

• Experience: Experienced
    Physical or Cloud Database Server
    « on: August 22, 2016, 10:45:00 AM »
    This is more of a theory crafting question/sounding board. I'm a business owner/end-user, but I'm fairly sophisticated in IT. So the facts: I have two locations, about 200 miles apart, both small retail stores (6-10 workstations). The first location has been up and running for over a year, the 2nd location will be coming online in a few months. Location 1 currently has in-house Win Server 2012, which runs our retail point-of-sale software/foxpro database. This software basically tracks all our inventory, purchases, receiving, sales and does full accounting. So basically we can't live without it. Location 2 is a second location license on this particular software, so both stores will/can use the same database/inventory, and it allows in-store transfers.. etc...

So now to my dilemma? HOW TO CONNECT THEM?!?!

I see two options (unless you can think of another):
    Option 1:
    Physical: I maintain the physical server at a single location, and use a location-location VPN to connect the 2nd location as a branch, using UPS as back-up power, I try to ensure physical server never goes down, or else both stores are non-operational.
    Pros: Easier to setup, all servers and deployment is done in our physical control.
    Cons: If location 2 loses power, or has server issues, location 2 is affected as well by any down time.

Option 2:
    Cloud: Using AWS or some other VPS service, host a virtual Windows server to host the software/database. Have each location VPN to the VPS, and a second location-location VPN so they can share other resources.