Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Putting ends on a cat5E cable.  (Read 3332 times)

Little Marine

Topic Starter

Intermediate

Putting ends on a cat5E cable.
    « on: September 08, 2016, 01:15:18 PM »
    With the answer I got concerning which cable to use I made a patch cable. The cable is 150 feet long. I can't get the internet when I plug the cable into my router and the computer. I bought a cheap cable checker which according to lights on it everything was okay. I plugged my laptop into the router with a short cable and I get the internet. So I know something is wrong with my long cable. I am new to making cables and I am at a lost to what is wrong. Both ends are wired to T-568A. Does anyone have any suggestions.

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Putting ends on a cat5E cable.
    « Reply #1 on: September 09, 2016, 06:08:48 AM »
    Do you have electrical noise?

If you have it strung along areas where there is electrical interference you can have issues. Cat5e is generally good at being shielded from this but if you have it strung across areas where fluorescent lights are or a building with other electrical noise then you can have issues. Other thing you can do is add a switch to the other end of the Cat5e at the computer end and use it as a booster. Cat 5e is rated for 328 feet ( 100 meters ) but in certain situations a switch at the other end of the cable works as a booster and clean the signal up by talking cleanly to the computer thru the switch. The computer then connects to the switch and everything works fine if its just a signal boost needed.

http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/10-things/10-things-you-shouldnt-do-when-running-network-cable/

If you do get connected via the switch added. I'd run a persistent ping such as running
    Code: [Select]