Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Computer Repairs -- Going the way of the TV Repair Guy  (Read 2473 times)

DaveLembke

Topic Starter

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Computer Repairs -- Going the way of the TV Repair Guy
« on: March 11, 2017, 03:04:19 PM »
Was curious what others felt on this. I have been working on fixing computers since the late 1980s. And from the mid 1990s through up until about 5 years ago, I had been pretty busy fixing computers and making ok money on the side doing so. It seems that ever since the price for new computers dropped below the $500 price tag for new laptop and desktop computers my help with fixing computers has dropped off and instead I am getting inquiries from past clients asking what they should buy next in a list of computers with price tags of $249.99 through $399.99 that they were eyeballing as the replacement to their prior computer.

The Windows XP no longer being supported created a scare that many felt forced to have to buy new computers, and I ended up getting many free computers when people were looking for a means of getting rid of their old computers and they didnt want to have to pay to get rid of their old computers. This worked out for me because it gave me free guts to fix other computers with as well as it worked out in that I was able to take 2 of the systems and give them to my wife and daughter for them to have computers and they were free.