How can I send free text or SMS messages online?

There are several online services that allow you to send free SMS or text messages to cell phones. Below is a short list of a few of the services we suggest. Each of these services do not require you to register or download any software. Keep in mind that while sending a text message with these services is free, receiving them may not be.

Free services for all carriers

Specific cell phone carriers

The following is a listing of all the major cell phone carriers e-mail addresses, which may be used to send SMS messages over e-mail. For example, if you had a friend with the cell phone number 555-123-4567 and AT&T as their carrier, you could text them by sending an e-mail to 5551234567@txt.att.net.

  • 3 River Wireless - 5551234567@sms.3rivers.net
  • Alltel - 5551234567@message.alltel.com
  • AT&T - 5551234567@txt.att.net
  • ACS Wireless - 5551234567@paging.acswireless.com
  • Bell Canada - 5551234567@txt.bellmobility.ca
  • Bell Mobility (Canada) - 5551234567@txt.bell.ca
  • Bell Mobility - 5551234567@txt.bellmobility.ca
  • Blue Sky Frog - 5551234567@blueskyfrog.com
  • Bluegrass Cellular - 5551234567@sms.bluecell.com
  • Boost Mobile - 5551234567@myboostmobile.com
  • BPL Mobile - 5551234567@bplmobile.com
  • Carolina West Wireless - 10digit10digitnumber@cwwsms.com
  • Cellular One - 5551234567@mobile.celloneusa.com
  • Cellular South - 5551234567@csouth1.com
  • Centennial Wireless - 5551234567@cwemail.com
  • CenturyTel - 5551234567@messaging.centurytel.net
  • Cingular - 5551234567@txt.att.net
  • Clearnet - 5551234567@msg.clearnet.com
  • Comcast - 5551234567@comcastpcs.textmsg.com
  • Corr Wireless Communications - 5551234567@corrwireless.net
  • Dobson - 5551234567@mobile.dobson.net
  • Edge Wireless - 5551234567@sms.edgewireless.com
  • Fido - 5551234567@fido.ca
  • Golden Telecom - 5551234567@sms.goldentele.com
  • Helio - 5551234567@messaging.sprintpcs.com
  • Houston Cellular - 5551234567@text.houstoncellular.net
  • Illinois Valley Cellular - 5551234567@ivctext.com
  • Inland Cellular Telephone - 5551234567@inlandlink.com
  • Idea Cellular - 5551234567@ideacellular.net
  • MCI - 5551234567@pagemci.com
  • Metrocall - 5551234567@page.metrocall.com
  • Metrocall 2-way - 5551234567@my2way.com
  • Metro PCS - 5551234567@mymetropcs.com
  • Microcell - 5551234567@fido.ca
  • Midwest Wireless - 5551234567@clearlydigital.com
  • Mobilcomm - 5551234567@mobilecomm.net
  • MTS - 5551234567@text.mtsmobility.com
  • Nextel - 5551234567@messaging.nextel.com
  • OnlineBeep - 5551234567@onlinebeep.net
  • President's Choice - 5551234567@txt.bell.ca
  • Public Service Cellular - 5551234567@sms.pscel.com
  • PCS One - 5551234567@pcsone.net
  • Qwest - 5551234567@qwestmp.com
  • Rogers Canada - 5551234567@pcs.rogers.com
  • Rogers AT&T Wireless - 5551234567@pcs.rogers.com
  • Satellink - 5551234567.pageme@satellink.net
  • Southwestern Bell - 5551234567@email.swbw.com
  • Sprint - 5551234567@messaging.sprintpcs.com
  • Sumcom - 5551234567@tms.suncom.com
  • Surewest Communicaitons - 5551234567@mobile.surewest.com
  • Sumcom - 5551234567@tms.suncom.com
  • Sprint - 5551234567@messaging.sprintpcs.com
  • Solo Mobile - 5551234567@txt.bell.ca
  • Surewest Communicaitons - 5551234567@mobile.surewest.com
  • T-Mobile - 5551234567@tmomail.net
  • Tracfone - 5551234567@txt.att.net
  • Telus - 5551234567@msg.telus.com
  • Triton - 5551234567@tms.suncom.com
  • Unicel - 5551234567@utext.com
  • US Cellular - 5551234567@email.uscc.net
  • US West - 5551234567@uswestdatamail.com
  • Virgin Mobile - 5551234567@vmobl.com
  • Virgin Mobile Canada - 5551234567@vmobile.ca
  • Verizon - 5551234567@vtext.com
  • Western Wireless - 5551234567@cellularonewest.com
  • West Central Wireless - 5551234567@sms.wcc.net

These are just a few of the many free services available on the Internet. If you were unable to get any of the previous ones to work, are or looking for more, click here to open a search for additional services.

Additional information

  • See the text messaging definition for additional information and related links.