Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: EIDE/PATA/ATA Hard Drive and Motherboard Compatbility  (Read 6052 times)

ossilix

Topic Starter

Rookie

EIDE/PATA/ATA Hard Drive and Motherboard Compatbility
    « on: July 29, 2010, 05:34:15 AM »
    I posted about a problem I'm having with my hard drive here:

http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php?topic=108066.0

I hope it's okay to post another thread as I have another question. Since my hard drive is old and has errors I would like to try to get a new one if possible, but don't know if the ones I'm looking at are compatible with my motherboard. (I'm a total noob when it comes to hardware.)

My motherboard is very old and only supports ATA/IDE/PATA/whatever it's called (it's all the same right?) hard drives. I read about getting a SATA drive and a SATA PCI adapter card but I'm afraid the motherboard won't support that option since it's so old (you have to have a driver for it to work, right?) So I tried to find an ATA drive.

The receipt for my current hard drive says it's a Samsung SP1203N, but both AIDA32 and Belarc Advisor say it's a SP1213N. I opened the enclosure and the label on the drive says SP1213N as well. Is it safe to assume that's what it is since it says that on the label? (Yes, dumb question but don't want to get my hopes up in case it's SP1203N after all)

Apparently SP1213N uses the Ultra-ATA/133 interface. Based on that, would this Western Digital HD possibly be compatible with my system?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Western+Digital+-+500GB+Internal+Hard+Drive/8188962.p?id=1164155955173&skuId=8188962

It's listed on Amazon too but with different box:

http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-7200RPM-Buffer-3-5INCH/dp/B000O9T5IA