Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: External Hard Drive Issues  (Read 7731 times)

CuNaMo

Topic Starter

Rookie

External Hard Drive Issues
    « on: August 21, 2010, 10:56:32 AM »
    Hello,

I am not sure if this problem belongs in this section or in the OS section, because I have a suspicion that the problem isn't with the hardware, but with the windows XP. Anyway, please let me know if I need to move it.

First, I have an external hardrive that is a 1TB buffalo combostation 4, that I have been using for more than 6 months just fine. I have about 500GB of data backed up onto the drive at the moment, several gigs of which is irreplaceable. Unfortunately, within the past month I have started to have some serious problems. First, the drive started freezing up. I would simply be navigating trough the folders/files, not even opening anything, and sometime between 2 minutes and 10 minutes it would freeze, and explorer would freeze and I couldn't terminate any processes in task manager. The only way to solve the problem was to unplug or turn off the drive, after which my computer would function again and I would get an error saying something like "the $MFT was inaccessible or corrupted and could not be written to." This error was most common when the drive was plugged in with a firewire cable (it has multiple different plugs in the back of the casing).