Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Installing xp on compaq 2500 have disc but keeps shutting down  (Read 2522 times)

shelli

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Installing xp on compaq 2500 have disc but keeps shutting down
    « on: December 19, 2010, 01:36:06 AM »
    Hallo everyone, I'm new to this kind of thing so apologies in advance if I bugger it up.  I was given a Compaq 2500 notebook with some "issues" so I thought I'd try reinstalling XP to wipe it clean and remove all the other persons stuff.  I was a little worried about using my xp disc from the old HP desktop but did it anyway.  The normal screens came up and it asked if I wanted to delete the partition which I did because there was not enough room to install XP on a new partition and it looked to be loading but then it got to the end and said it couldn't start and shut down.  Now when I try to reboot I get an error message saying invalid boot ini file then next... following file corrupt:
    \windows\system32\config\SYSTEM - it then says to put the CD which I do and I get another message saying press any key to boot from CD but  just as it gets to the screen that says R for repair or Enter to start the computer shuts down.  Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance.

Allan

• Mastermind
    • Experience: Guru
    Re: Installing xp on compaq 2500 have disc but keeps shutting down
    « Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 06:31:44 AM »
    Is the XP disk you are using an OEM disk? What does the label on the disk say?

shelli

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
      « Reply #2 on: December 19, 2010, 05:06:55 PM »
      The disc was the one that came with my desktop bought new from Harvey Norman.  It says Microsoft Windows xp home edition with a holographic Genuine/Microsoft down the bottom of the disc.
      Thanks

Allan

• Mastermind
      • Experience: Guru
      « Reply #3 on: December 20, 2010, 05:40:31 AM »