Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Assembly in Ubuntu Linux using NASM help???  (Read 13340 times)

timtim41

Topic Starter

Beginner
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
Assembly in Ubuntu Linux using NASM help???
« on: March 15, 2011, 03:33:21 PM »
Hi. I'm pretty new to programming in 32-bit assembly. I'm trying to make a basic Min-Max game in assembly using the NASM assembler. The only trouble I'm having is getting integer input from the user. I cannot find anywhere on the internet a simple example of user input using NASM in linux. Any help is GREATLY appreciated. Thank you :)
T Jewell

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
  • Geek After Dark
    • Gekk9pm bnlog
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Assembly in Ubuntu Linux using NASM help???
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 03:55:25 PM »
You want integer input?

Create a procedure that converts  ASCII to a digit in the range of 0-9, if out of range set a flag.
Like this:
    sub ax, '0'     ; if out of range, sets carry

Create a procedure that gets a single char from the console input in Linux.

Create a procedure that calls the above and multiples  prior value by ten and adds to next value. Exit on error.

Finally have a procedure that uses the above. Check to see if user hit CR or a invalid digit. If CR all done, else chide user and start over.

You may want a cuter to limit integer to five digits.

Glad to see somebody using NASM.

Netwide Assembler
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netwide_Assembler

timtim41

Topic Starter

Beginner
    • Yes
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2011, 05:03:52 PM »
Thanks for the advice, ill try that. But I actually don't know how to get input of any kind yet. I've tried looking up the system calls and interrupts for using NASM with Linux, but I'm having trouble understanding it unfortunately. But I'll keep on trying and let you know where I'm still stuck at or if I figure it out. :)