Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Win 7 will not boot - screen is stuck on "starting windows"  (Read 18215 times)

Yugima

Hello,

I have been in quite the flurry since I came up with this problem this morning. First Ill give you all the tech specs. See, I have a Toshiba Protégé M200 Tablet PC running windows 7. The M200 was specifically designed for Windows XP, so there are some small driver issues here and there. I got the laptop used via Cragslist. The man who sold it to me was very knowledgeable on PC systems and such. I bought the laptop for $200 (I'm a student, so that was a godsend). The man fully reformatted the HD and put a fresh install of Win 7 on it. A big problem is that I DO NOT have the Win 7 license, HE does. I have no recovery discs or anything.

This laptop was bought because I needed to use one program that only runs on PC platforms. I have been getting by with just about the bare minimum and everything has worked perfectly for the past two years since I bought it.

I have it loaded with the max amount of RAM the model can handle: 2 GB. It has NVIDIA GeFORCE FX (I believe that is the graphics card?). I cannot say much more about what else it has for hardware, drivers, etc. as I cannot access ANYTHING on the computer. You can find the manual for this model here (PDF or HTML): http://www.fixya.com/support/p511024-toshiba_portege_m200_p000388600_tablet/manual-14757

Now for the walkthrough of what happened: