Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: adding already formatted hard drive  (Read 3184 times)

muzztobe

adding already formatted hard drive
« on: August 27, 2005, 04:05:28 PM »
I am trying to install my hard drive from my old computer into a Dell Dimension 4500. BIOS is recognizing the hard drive, but it is in a continuous boot loop. It will not load Windows. Dell's support wants to charge me $100 to help me fix the problem. I am a student and cannot afford it! Can anyone tell me how to add an already formatted hard drive into this system as the boot drive? I would appreciate it greatly!!

Fed

• Sage
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: adding already formatted hard drive
    « Reply #1 on: August 27, 2005, 04:13:43 PM »
    I assume your 'formatted' means 'Operating System' installed?
    The result... too many hardware changes for the old OS to cope with.
    Can you start in safe mode?

muzztobe

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2005, 04:16:08 PM »
    Yes, I mean an os already installed! I have XP Professional installed. No, I cannot start in safe mode, last known good configuration or any of the options.

Raptor

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2005, 04:19:07 PM »
    You will have to reinstall the operating system. You can not install an Operating System on one computer, take out the Hard Disk Drive and expect the OS to function on another computer.  Chances are there that it will, but there is also the chance that it won't.

muzztobe

« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2005, 04:31:27 PM »