Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: no splash screen, no beeps on startup  (Read 2836 times)

mizhepzibah

Topic Starter

Rookie

no splash screen, no beeps on startup
    « on: August 10, 2011, 09:30:41 PM »
    I turned on my computer this morning and it came up empty.  The fans started, the power LED in the power button came on, the hard drive LED lit up for about a second, but the monitor never got a signal.  I'm guessing failure at the CPU, but that's just random guessing, as I have no real training or knowledge, practically speaking.  Next step?

Thank you for your time.

JJ 3000

Egghead
    • Experience: Familiar
    Re: no splash screen, no beeps on startup
    « Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 10:58:53 PM »
    Try another monitor.

Reseat your video card.

If that doesn't work try another video card, or test yours in another computer.
    Save a Life!
    Adopt a homeless pet.
    http://www.petfinder.com/

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    « Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 10:59:58 PM »
    Have you made any recent changes to the computer?
    How old is your computer? Do you do maintenance every six months?
    Has the computer had any rough treatment? falling off the desk?
    Is it laptop?

mizhepzibah

Topic Starter

Rookie

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 11:18:57 PM »
      Have you made any recent changes to the computer?