Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: GPU Died?  (Read 3372 times)

Zaeem

Topic Starter

Rookie

• Experience: Beginner
    GPU Died?
    « on: December 18, 2011, 08:38:21 AM »
    Hello guys!

Today, computer locked up (hang) after playing Battlefield 3 for about 5 minutes or so. I restarted it and again run the game and the same thing happened. Then for the third time, after lowering my graphics' settings, I ran the game again, but the computer again froze up. There afterwards, when I restarted my PC, it failed to detect my GPU at all (in the Device Manager), though it was using the DVI port of the same GPU to display very low quality (CPU emulated) visuals, even during the BIOS POST and subsequent start-up phases. So, I had to resort to internal graphic card after this happened and it's working fine.

I have been playing normally for past 2 years with no problem at all. So what can be the possible reason for the current problem? Is it some kind of problem with the motherboard (like faulty PCIe controller) or has my GPU started malfunctioning?

My PC specs are below:
    Intel Core2Duo 3.0 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    EVGA GTS 250 (512MB)
    ASUS P5KPL-AM Mainboard

Any help would be welcome!

Transfusion

Mentor

• STUPID=Smart Talented Unique Person In Demand
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • Yes
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Familiar
    Re: GPU Died?
    « Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, 08:46:58 AM »
    It would be best if you could test the GTS 250 in another computer.
    Did your graphics card shows signs of malfunctioning(artifacts, corruption, etc) before this issue?
    In Soviet Russia, iPhone touch you. Computer shut you down. Mouse click you. Floppy inserts you. Yahoo answers you. Man in TV watches you. Computer game addicts you. Guitar shreds you. Motherboard fries you. The laughter in manslaughter is put back in.
    Giveaway of the Day" style="border: none