Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: PC turns off when playing games  (Read 6983 times)

Vox

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    PC turns off when playing games
    « on: October 09, 2014, 09:10:53 PM »
    Hello, new to the computer hope community and the forums look great.
    My computer suddenly turns off when playing certain games like Shadow of Mordor, Nosgoth, and also Civilization. After around 1 hour of playing is when it turns off. It doesn't turn off on all games though like Fallout or TF2 though. Checked to see if my fans are working properly which they are, and I know my drivers are up to date. I'm thinking it starts to heat up with graphic heavy games but im no computer expert when it comes to this. Any suggestions would be great, thanks.

My specs:
    OS – Windows 7 Ultimate
    Processor – AMD FX™-6350 Six-Core Processor
    Video Card – AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
    Memory – 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Motherboard – ASUS M5A97
    PSU - CORSAIR CX series CX600

Virneto

Starter

• Experience: Experienced
      Re: PC turns off when playing games
      « Reply #1 on: October 10, 2014, 04:27:43 AM »
      Hi there!
      Yap! It smells like overheat!!  8)

Do you have an logs or failure report to check for more info?

DaveLembke

Sage
      • Certifications: List
      • Computer: Specs
      • Experience: Expert
      « Reply #2 on: October 10, 2014, 06:02:13 AM »
      I'd check temps with speedfan or another temp monitoring utility. Temp for CPU should be below 60C and temp for video card should be below 75C with most GPUs rated for 90C to 100C as max temp etc.

Make sure you dont have dust covering all parts inside as for this can hold in heat and cause components to overheat.