Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help picking a computer???  (Read 4875 times)

90thatoneguy

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Help picking a computer???
    « on: January 03, 2015, 07:34:01 PM »
    Hey everyone, I was hoping you guys can help me out. I'm looking to buy a new desktop and I'm not that good at comparing computers. I just want to get the best one I can with the budget in in which is $500 and has to be from Walmart. I will be using this computer to surf the web and watch videos. Also I will be producing music on it too. I just want one that will last me a long time and be fast. My best options I see are 1.    http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/HP-Pavilion-500-223w-Desktop-PC-with-Intel-Core-i3-4130-Processor-8GB-Memory-1TB-Hard-Drive-and-Windows-8.1-Monitor-Not-Included/34083880?type=search            And 2.   http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/Acer-Black-Aspire-TC-ATC-605-UW2U-Desktop-PC-with-Intel-Core-i5-4460-Processor-8GB-Memory-1TB-Hard-Drive-and-Windows-7-Home-Premium-Monitor-Not-Inc/39405639?type=search      Could you guys help me out???

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Help picking a computer???
    « Reply #1 on: January 03, 2015, 07:41:46 PM »
    I trust HP more than I do Acer.

The i3 is weaker processing power than the i5

With these systems you would get a better quality HP Core i3 or a lower quality Acer Core i5  :-\

For the fact that you are not gaming the Core i3 should be good for 3 to 5 years of use and possibly longer. I also use audio software and generally they dont need a powerful system to function. The only difference in say an older system running one of my audio editing/mixing/conversion programs and a newer system is that the newer system would process it faster into an MP3 while the older computer would take longer to process to create the MP3 file.