Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Gaming PC With a Budget Help?  (Read 2897 times)

Pop

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Gaming PC With a Budget Help?
    « on: August 22, 2015, 06:15:02 PM »
    I'm preparing to switch over from console to PC, but I'm quite new to the individual parts and which brands are good or not. I had a friend build the parts of the computer for me, but I need it to be about 75$ to 100$ cheaper than it currently is.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/NQg8Bm

It would be used almost entirely for gaming, with the occasional Youtube video here and there. I'd also prefer a Windows 10 OS if possible. I also really like the case, and I'd love if it went with either a full red/black or a blue/black color set. Peripherals not needed.

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Gaming PC With a Budget Help?
    « Reply #1 on: August 22, 2015, 08:18:12 PM »
    What is the most complex game you plan to run on this?

If you plan to play the game Witcher 3 for example this system just meets the recommended requirements for the CPU even with 8 cores.

One area to save some money would be if you could get by with 4 or 6 core AMD instead on an 8-core AMD. You could shave off almost $100 if you were able to get by with a 4 core ( quadcore ). It all depends on what your going to run for games.  As far as occasional youtube video, I am able to play Youtube through a 13 year old Pentium 4  2Ghz with 1GB 266Mhz DDR RAM, with Geforce 6200 256mb video card for example so Youtube is very very lightweight and only a very very low end modern system would struggle with it if it had too weak of a APU or GPU.

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    « Reply #2 on: August 22, 2015, 10:13:27 PM »
    Something to consider. Is this a DIY project? What is the objective?