Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Windows backup "no disc" dialog box  (Read 3388 times)

lectrocrew

Topic Starter

Mentor

• ole dog learning new tricks
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • My first self-built computer
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
Windows backup "no disc" dialog box
« on: December 27, 2015, 06:50:26 PM »
I'm attempting to run windows backup with it set to save to CD/DVD drive. It's tells me there is no disc in the drive but I've put 3 separate DVD-R disc in it so far. All 3 disc are brand new bought at Wmart today. The PC is Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop / Win 7 home 64bit. I am sure the optical drive will burn a disc. I've never used Windows backup before. What am I doing wrong?

[attachment deleted by admin to conserve space]

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
  • Geek After Dark
    • Gekk9pm bnlog
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Windows backup "no disc" dialog box
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2015, 11:05:47 PM »
Hard to say. It should work.
Back up and restore: frequently asked questions

The link above is from Microsoft and might be of some help.
But look at this:
We recommend that you save your backup on an external hard drive that can hold at least 200 GB.
This would indicate that the backup will not use a DVD for a system backup. Instead, you must use an external USB hard drive.

Myself, I have not use DVDs for backup for years. I always use a hard drive.

patio

• Genius
  • Maud' Dib
    • Yes
  • Experience: Beginner
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2015, 07:36:46 AM »
Borrow a few different brands of media from friends...
Some burners are finicky about which discs you use.
" Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

DaveLembke

Sage
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2015, 08:17:25 AM »