Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Installation issues.  (Read 8378 times)

XPForever

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    Installation issues.
    « on: July 10, 2017, 06:44:45 PM »
    Hello I am currently I am a little new to the forum and I am not very good at using computers when it comes to reinstallation.

I am having a problem where after restoring the recovery partition using 7 HP Restore disks it will always  Bluescreen so I decided to use recovery options and I used second option to erase and recovery but I have no luck and I tried the only options and I always get a System Recovery prompt that asks me to insert disk #2 but then it sits there for an hour copying the programs from the disk and is stuck on 2 % and I thought what if I borrowed or some how got the original installation media of Windows XP Home Edition because the machine came with Windows XP Home Edition with no service packs (basically the first version of Windows XP) so I thought could I use the product key on the side of the computer and use it with another Windows XP disk with the same version to install Windows XP on it because I have no luck on using the restore disks and HP doesn't make restore disks anymore so it is possible to use a normal Windows XP Home Edition disk that installs the same version of Windows but use the product key on the side of the computer and will it pass activation?  I have also tried several web pages but no luck on answering the question I have (webpages that have product key F.A.Q).

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Installation issues.
    « Reply #1 on: July 10, 2017, 07:11:37 PM »