Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Samsung TV being used as monitor via HDMI - suddenly changed resolution itself?  (Read 3905 times)

xpreshun

Topic Starter

Rookie

Hi guys, I have searched and found the "Black borders on side of screen" help topic but no joy. I wondered if I could get some help.

I've been using this TV for a couple of years as a monitor for my PC as well as display for my Xbox with no problems, with the full display being used and sized correctly for 1366x768 all using HDMI connections. For some reason as I was just running Football Manager, I turned around for a second, turned back and my screen had changed resolution to show the black 3 inches or so at each side.

However the FM2014 game and Windows (7, Ultimate) seem to think the resolution is still set at 1366 x 768? I have just uninstalled the Nvidia driver and reinstalled to no effect, tried the stretch options in the Nvidia Control Panel and swapped HDMI ports on the TV too, all to no effect.

The TV uses all the display for the Xbox still too, so I don't think it's the TV. Graphics card is an old but trusty GeForce 610GT .

Really has me puzzled, and a little annoyed! Any ideas would be more than welcome. Cheers.

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    • Experience: Beginner
    Revert back to the card manuf. drivers...what happens ? ?

Newer drivers are not always better drivers.
    " Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

xpreshun

Topic Starter

Rookie

Hi Patio. I don't have the original driver disc anymore, I think this driver is the only one available/compatible now as the graphics card and Windows 7 are getting pretty old.