Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: please help! external hardrive  (Read 3067 times)

dubbnasty

please help! external hardrive
« on: January 30, 2006, 04:12:05 PM »
Hello all i am new to computer help. I recently ran a norton anti-virus scan on my desktop in fear of that worm going around. I had my external hard drive hooked up to it when it did it. My hardrive is a Maxtor 3100 80gb hard drive.  After running the scan and cleanup options my external hardrive no longer works. When i plug it into the desktop the computer recognizes it but when i click on the hardrive slot in the my computer screen it says that its blank. It even gives me the little screen showing how much free space is on it and how much space is in total and still when i click on it it says its blank. This is an emergency b/c im a 3rd yr animation student whos about to graduate and all of my projects are gone.  Anyone with any help or suggestions or anything will be deeply appreciated. Im running windows xp on my computer. thank you. :' :'

Flame

• Prodigy

• Think, dream, see, be... Everything.
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Guru
Re: please help! external hardrive
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2006, 04:58:06 PM »
With execption to the space, we have the same series  ;D  Ok back to the point, see if GoBack helps... Do you have norton GoBack?

Flame
« Last Edit: January 30, 2006, 05:19:48 PM by flame »

GX1_Man

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2006, 05:00:42 PM »
If it's THAT critical, you could contact a data recovery service before monkeying with it.  If not, you can try some of the suggestions that will be posted.

You should try it on another computer first, preferably one that can burn to CD or DVD.

All hard drives die eventually. That is no place for a backup! If critical data, multiple backup locations are wisest.

dubbnasty

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2006, 09:25:35 PM »