Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: My computer wont turn on  (Read 5214 times)

stephoo

My computer wont turn on
« on: April 06, 2006, 02:10:10 AM »
Hello, Im not very good with computers and my home PC is rather slow. I thought i was being clever last night deleting some files that i thought were not used anymore. After doing this and emptying the recycle bin i couldnt connect to the internet. I tried turning off and turning on again but now the computer wont get passed the drive error check. It thinks there is a disk in the cd drive which there isnt. It is making funny banging noises like its trying to load something. It is quite old and i dont expect miricals but i wondered if there is any point trying to save it or should i just throw it away?
Thanks in advance for any help or advice anyone can offer.

GX1_Man

Re: My computer wont turn on
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 04:27:11 AM »
Do you  have a Windows CD to reinstall? That sounds like a good place to start and would be a great time to check the hardware as well. What computer or motherboard make model, processor, RAM, etc. is involved?

missingmylaptop

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2006, 08:19:33 AM »
AHH I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY LAPTOP!
my laptop has been going crazy for the past couple of weeks. i'm thinking my lappy got messed up from accidentally letting it sit on battery power while it was burning a CD. the battery ended up dying and when i go to restart my comp it was extremely slow and notifications were popping up here and there. after restarting the comp a couple more times, it refused to even start up. it now reads a message after it pitifully tries to start-up, it reads "WINDOWS COULD NOT START BC THE FOLLOWING FILE IS MISSING OR CORRUPT: \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM"