Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Moving/Copying Outlook Mail Files  (Read 2943 times)

MCJerome

Moving/Copying Outlook Mail Files
« on: June 14, 2006, 09:30:32 PM »
Hello All.  This is my first post here.  I'm glad to have found what looks like a fantastic forum.

As a non tech expert, I am gearing up to reinstall my XP Home Operating System on my Dell Inspiron 8500 laptop.  First time for such a scarey event.  (Any pointers?)
The hard drive is partitioned and as I understand it, my data files are on the D Drive and the program files are on the C Drive.  When reinstalling the OS onto the C Drive, it will wipe clean everything on there while the D drive remains unharmed.  

I have found from the "Data File Management" button, under the Outlook File Menu, that my email files are stored in the Application Data Folder on the C Drive.  
How can I move/copy and somehow not lose my whole history of email during the reinstallation process.  
How then, do I get the reinstalled Outlook program to find and recognize all the emails again?  
It's a bit strange.   Am I write in the impression that all of my emails, thousands, are contained in one file?  

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and hopefully help me with my situation.  

Best,

Matthew

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: Moving/Copying Outlook Mail Files
    « Reply #1 on: June 14, 2006, 09:57:59 PM »
    Matthew ,  You should find all your Email stored here .

The default location where Outlook 2003 stores your data is in Documents and Settings\<user>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook\outlook.pst

To double check where Outlook is saving data, go to Tools > Options… > Mail Setup > Data Files… and you will see a listing of all of your data files (along with an interface for managing them).

Hope this helps you

dl65  ::)
    If you don't know the answer, it isn't a dumb question.

GX1_Man