Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Installing SATA hard drive into IDE computer  (Read 2884 times)

aiott

Installing SATA hard drive into IDE computer
« on: February 07, 2007, 03:39:25 PM »
I wanted to replace my 10 GB hard drive with something bigger and following a friend's advice, I purchased a 160GB hard drive which I found out later was a SATA and I have IDE connections.  I contacted TigerDirect and they sent me the card and cables to connect the device.  I followed the FAQ and found the drive as unallocated.  How do I get this drive up and working and then use it as my primary drive (I have the XP Professional disk)?  I am a novice computer tech and need some assistance in this area.

Thanks in advance.

Allen

GX1_Man

Re: Installing SATA hard drive into IDE computer
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2007, 04:18:37 PM »
First you will need the driver disk (or CD). Then boot the machine with the XP CD in the drive and have that disk handy and press F6 when asked and insert it.

aiott

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2007, 03:26:04 AM »
Okay, I put the XP CD disk n and booted the machine. I pressed the F6 prompt when asked and the "s" but the computer is looking for the a drive and ignoring thne cd driver with the driver cd. What do I need to do now?

GX1_Man

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2007, 03:53:42 AM »
o you have an A drive? Can you copythe file to it? Can you not redirect the search if not?

aiott

« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2007, 05:32:39 AM »
How do you redirect the search? Do I need to change my bios? I will try to copy the disk to a floppy but it may not fit.

aiott

« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2007, 06:50:20 PM »