Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Problems with hard drive in custom PC, "no drives were found..."  (Read 7630 times)

chrisdwu

Hi,

I recently placed an order for parts to build a PC that would be used for gaming. I've never built a PC before, but when I received the parts, I had a friend help me. So far, everything seemed to be working fine.

That was, until I got to the part where I have to install the OS to a hard drive. This is past the part where everything goes wrong. I had put in the product key for activation, which was accepted. Then, I checked the license agreement stuff, that went all right. I chose a Custom installation, to install a Clean Copy - normal, I suppose, since this is a brand new, custom built computer.

At the part where I want to install Windows, all goes to *censored*. It claims, verbatim, "No drives were found. Click Load Driver to provide a mass storage driver for installation." I've tried a variety of driver software, to no avail. I've had friends from my dorm (which, incidentally, is full of engineering and compsci majors) come in to help, and all were defeated.

And given that normal tech support wasn't that helpful (likewise with Google), I decided to just ask the online community directly.

From what I can tell, my hard drive is definitely running, for it is giving off warmth during operation. It is a Western Digital Caviar Blue, W3200AAJS model. The storage capacity is 320 GB, and the interface is SATA 3.0 Gb/s. RPM, 7200. Cache, 8 MB. It is connected via two sets of cables: one that goes from the PSU (500W) and another that is a SATA connector.

My motherboard is a GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3L type, and it definitely has SATA on it, because the HDD is connected to SATA port 0. There are six ports, labelled 0 to 5.