Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: HELP!! Re-formating problem  (Read 3488 times)

PleaseHelpMe

HELP!! Re-formating problem
« on: April 06, 2009, 01:10:23 PM »
I am a noob when it comes to computers so please help me.

I have a XP (on a dell latitude C810) that I decided to format. So I put in the CD and went through the instructions and it didn't work.
I decided to retry formatting. When it was only ~10% done, my brother unplugged the power cord and the laptop shut off. (My laptops battery it broken - when you unplug the AC power it turns off). I restarted the laptop and it loaded the dell image, then went to a screen that read:

"Primary hard disk drive not found
Fixed optical drive not found
No bootable devices -- strike F1 to retry boot, F2 for setup utility"

I hit F1 and it says "No bootable devices -- strike F1 to retry boot, F2 for setup utility"

PLEASE HELP ME

fat_basterd21

Apprentice

• Experience: Experienced
Re: HELP!! Re-formating problem
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 03:48:20 PM »
First off do you have the original recovery disc that came with the computer?

Second, the hard drive is not formated anymore and so is not being recognized. This shouldn't matter since you still need to boot from the recovery dics and continue what you started.

You may have tried this but you say you are noob so I would try this first.

Put your recovery disk in your default cd-rom then start your computer.

Right from the start it loads the bios. Look for an option to set the boot order or select that the computer boots from the cd-rom. Usualy F2 will get you into the bios options. Some bios' automaticaly give you choices what to boot from everytime you boot up.