Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: HELP!!! I NEED A PASSWORD REWRITE  (Read 3509 times)

Vivace

Topic Starter

Rookie

HELP!!! I NEED A PASSWORD REWRITE
    « on: April 15, 2009, 06:28:03 PM »
    My brother recently gave me his old computer (Windows XP), but as fate has it has forgot the password to it. Natyrally i could restart everything on it, but their are many files and programs that I installed or stored on his comp when he let me. Is there any way to rewrite or erase the current password without having to go through risky procedures or tedious programming?

PS: I am a noob at computers, so I hope to learn from problematic solutions and avoid the same.

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: HELP!!! I NEED A PASSWORD REWRITE
    « Reply #1 on: April 15, 2009, 06:56:17 PM »
    Welcome to the forum.
    It is very important to use a password you can remember, buy not something that others would guess. Next time write you password on the back of something you always carry with you. Like a card listing your medications or something like that.

Meanwhile, we recommend that you contact the manufacture of the computer for the best way to reset the password. How to do this depends on what method was used and what computer you have and some other variables. Using the wrong method could result is lose of data or even making the PC dysfunctional.

Of course, that does not always happen, but I would not want to take the responsibility of causing you lose something that is very valuable to you and would cause you pain.