Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: PC Shuts Down On Its Own  (Read 3258 times)

fbales

Topic Starter

Starter

PC Shuts Down On Its Own
    « on: May 02, 2009, 07:25:50 AM »
    I have this weird problem.  I have a home built PC with a Pentium D, 4 gigs mem, 250G Maxtor HD.  This rig is about 2 1/2 years old, and the problem's been occurring less than a year.  I'm wondering if its the PSU since I replaced it about a year ago.

Problem: It just shuts down, and I can't turn it back on until I unplug it and plug it back in.  It is intermittent, going weeks without doing it, then it'll do it a few times a day for several days.  It sounds weird, but it happens a lot just when I sit in my chair (and there are no cables, etc., near my chair).

I'm no expert at a PC, but I can generally figure out, and fix, problems I have.  This one, though, has me stumped.

Frank

patio

• Genius
    • Maud' Dib
      • Yes
    • Experience: Beginner
    Re: PC Shuts Down On Its Own
    « Reply #1 on: May 02, 2009, 07:42:48 AM »
    Best way to test this Frank would be to borrow a known good PSU and swap it in there to see if the issue goes away...
    I'm assuming you get no error messages since you didn't mention it so chances are it's the likely culprit.
    The only other thing that causes this other than RAM issues (not likely without BSOD's or error messages) would be overheating.
    For this remove a side panel and do some housekeeping inside. Use a can of compressed air paying special attention to the heatsinks and fans.
    Use a QTip to hold the fans in place when blasting them as you can damage them letting them spin up.
    Let us know...
    " Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

fbales

Topic Starter

Starter

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2009, 04:49:21 PM »