Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: ms excel 2007 age calculation with date help  (Read 2504 times)

navyairtech

Topic Starter

Starter

ms excel 2007 age calculation with date help
    « on: May 24, 2009, 12:29:14 AM »
    Hi, im new to excel 2007. I have clues, but no ideas. lol. i hope somebody knows what to do here. I am making a job application search log and in one column i have 'date resume submitted' where all i put is the date of the day i apply somewhere. in the column just next to it i have 'days out' whereas i have a DATEIF code which displays year, month day of how long its been since i faxed/emailed/communicated with the potential employer. currently i have a formula that once i put the date into the j column(date resume submitted), it will automatically start calculating ages. So lets say the next day or even 2 weeks later, i enter this worksheet, it will tell me exactly how many days or months it has been since the date i applied for that company. heres my dilemma. everytime i place a new job into this worksheet, i have to tell the 'days out' DATEIF formula exactly where the date is sitting. its awfully annoying. i cant figure out how to just formulatize the entire column to automatically look for a date just one column over. argh
    Here is a few of what formula i am currently using and any help would be greatly appreciated! thank you.

Jeff

=DATEDIF(J6,NOW(),"y")&" Y, "& DATEDIF(J6,NOW(),"ym")&
    " M, " & DATEDIF(J6,NOW(),"md") & " D"

-whereas J6 would be where i put the date and k6 would be where it would display (0Y,0M,5D)(for 5 days since i applied for this job).
    now what happens next time i want to apply for a job going down one row..

on J7 i put in a date and then i have to manually enter my automatic formula to change J6 TO J7. argh!! please help me!!!?!!

ive uploaded a copy of the blank worksheet in case anybody wants to look at it.