Computer Hope

Microsoft => Microsoft DOS => Topic started by: BetaLyte on September 26, 2008, 11:13:54 PM

Title: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: BetaLyte on September 26, 2008, 11:13:54 PM
First of all; hi =)
I've been luring at this forum for a while now, and finally found a question that wasn't answered already.
Or at least I couldn't find it.

Now, can I (inside my batch file) make another batch run in fullscreen without  having it as default?

I know that you can set the properties of a shortcut to run in fullscreen, but I can't seem to "run" the shortcut, it just runs the file it's referencing to. (Obviously ::))

Basically I want this:
Code: [Select]
set /p pass=<password.dat
set /p password=Enter password:
if %pass%==%password% goto correct
start app_here.bat
exit

and to my app_here.bat to run in fullscreen?
I've tried making a shortcut, and starting that, but that doesn't work.
And "start app.bat /MAX" doesn't work either?

Any suggestions?
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Sidewinder on September 27, 2008, 04:50:29 AM
Batch files require the cmd window. This is the window you need to set to full screen.

1. Open a cmd window
2. Right click the title bar
3. Check full screen on the Options tab
4. Save settings

 8)
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: devcom on September 27, 2008, 07:19:25 AM
try
Code: [Select]
mode 200add this to start of bat file
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Fairadir on September 27, 2008, 09:14:31 AM
Batch files require the cmd window. This is the window you need to set to full screen.

1. Open a cmd window
2. Right click the title bar
3. Check full screen on the Options tab
4. Save settings

 8)


i did this and now cmd and all bat files run in full screen, but how can i change in back to normal?   ???
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Carbon Dudeoxide on September 27, 2008, 09:20:10 AM
i did this and now cmd and all bat files run in full screen, but how can i change in back to normal?   ???
Press ALT + Enter when in the CMD window and reverse the process.
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: BetaLyte on September 27, 2008, 09:54:59 AM
Thanks alot for all the comments, but not exactly what I'm looking for.

As said in my first post, I don't want the fullscreen to be default, only for this one .bat file.
Can I do that?

The mode command I've also tried, but again, in just resizes the windows, doesn't make it fullscreen.

Is there a command which starts a process/batch file in fullscreen?
Or someway I can start the shortcut it self, because I can make the one batch I need to run in fullscreen through a shortcut.
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Carbon Dudeoxide on September 27, 2008, 08:10:00 PM
Hmmmm.....That has been asked many times in the past and the answer has always been the same.
You can't.
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Sidewinder on September 28, 2008, 03:31:16 AM
As mentioned, batch files require the cmd window.

Try setting up the shortcut something like this:

%windir%\system32\cmd.exe /k yourbatchfilehere
 
Right click the shortcut, and check full screen on the Options tab.

 8)
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: emilswe94 on October 24, 2008, 04:52:34 PM
 The batch command "reg add HKCU\Console\ /v Fullscreen /t REG_DWORD /d 1" will set every console application, for example cmd.exe, which all batch files are run from. Starting a batch file after that would make it fullscreen. You could use the "call" command for that. Replacing "/d 1" with "/d 0" resets this option.

File1:
reg add HKCU\Console\ /v Fullscreen /t REG_DWORD /d 1
call file2.bat

File2:
echo In fullscreen we are!
pause
reg add HKCU\Console\ /v Fullscreen /t REG_DWORD /d 0

 Just thought I'd bring it up.

    //EmiL
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Jacob on October 25, 2008, 05:08:27 AM
I cannot help, but this will sort out any problems with your code:
Code: [Select]
@echo off
set /p pass=<password.dat
set /p password=Enter password:
if %pass%==%password% goto correct
exit
:correct
start app_here.bat
exit

This will exit even if you type nothing, when before you may have had some problems.
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Dusty on October 26, 2008, 01:18:56 AM
I use something close to Sidewinder's solution.

I set a global Environment Variable as follows:
Code: [Select]
Varname=Start /max %comspec%  /k batfile.bat
Batfile.bat will contain your script to be run..

Create another bat file (let's call in startup.bat) which contains:
Code: [Select]
@echo off
cls

%Varname%

When you click to open Startup.bat it will run the Env Variable %Varname% which opens the command window in fullscreen then runs your Batfile.bat

Of course:
Code: [Select]
Start /max Batfile.batmight work as well.

Good luck
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Tan_Za on November 13, 2008, 03:49:02 AM
OMG, devcom is right dudes it is mode 200 but you don't have to put it at the start of the program you can put it in any part of your program, once the person has typed the right pass word in or what ever just put this code into the batch file you want to run.

if exist 'program used to open this one' goto fullscreen
:fullscreen
mode 200
:: continue on from there

Or you could do it this way

if exist 'program used to open this one' mode 200

Just so you know mode does not have to be 200 you can change it to what ever you want it to be, you can fiddle around with it and see the results that you get.

hope that solved your problem,
Tan_Za
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Kyzis on January 08, 2012, 12:56:23 PM
I have create an easy way to do that. It's a EXE in C language name screen.exe

He just simulate the typing on the keys Alt + Enter. It's simply.

505 donwloads at this time. Go on this link if you want to download it :

Link Removed...

It's easy to use. Just place it in the same directory of the Batch file and add this line in the Batch :

Code: [Select]
screen.exe
You can use anothe way to do that. You can just copy the EXE in the "System folder" at this link :

C:\Windows\System32

After that you can use this EXE everywhere the Batch file are.

Windows XP only.

P.S. I know this topic is old. So I just wan't to help the english communauty I'm a french guy. And I'm sory if my english is poor.

See you everybody.
Title: Re: "start app.bat" - in fullscreen
Post by: Tan_Za on January 08, 2012, 07:16:43 PM
daym last post in 2008 until this new post... mate the thing is this guy obviously wanted to program in batch and make it him self not use something that sounds so dodgy... even though this is like prob never gonna be seen again it was worth noting.

regards,
Tan_Za