Computer Hope

Microsoft => Microsoft Windows => Windows Vista and 7 => Topic started by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 01:30:29 PM

Title: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 01:30:29 PM
I just bought Vista Ultimate this morning.  Installed just fine.  With one problem....  Even idle, it is always using at least 25% cpu.  The program using it is always different.  But most of the time is it svchost.  Any idears?

by the way, i have an amd phenom quad core 2.3ghx, so it should be using much less.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 01, 2009, 02:50:59 PM
 ::) ::)
http://www.technibble.com/how-to-fix-svchost-using-100-cpu-memory-leak/ (http://www.technibble.com/how-to-fix-svchost-using-100-cpu-memory-leak/)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 04:12:00 PM
Well, that says for xp only.  I have vista. :-\
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 01, 2009, 04:23:34 PM
All I could find was something about uninstalling your antivirus
doubt this will help but w/e
http://www.somelifeblog.com/2007/05/windows-xp-svchostexe-100-cpu-high.html (http://www.somelifeblog.com/2007/05/windows-xp-svchostexe-100-cpu-high.html)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 04:34:46 PM
Clean install, or upgrade?

Please, post some computer info:
- processor type, amount of RAM (hold Windows logo key, hit Pause/Break key)
- hard drive size/free space (open "My Computer", right click on hard drive letter, click "Properties")
- security programs in use (antivirus, firewall)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 01, 2009, 05:02:34 PM
Did you put your mouse over the spec thing
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 05:41:26 PM
Clean install. 

amd phenom 9600 quad core 2.3ghz

4.00gb ram

431 of 465gb hdd space is free

Comodo firewall, avast antivirus, mbam, [email protected]

Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 05:59:53 PM
Download HijackThis:
http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/tools/security_tools/hijackthis/download (http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/tools/security_tools/hijackthis/download)
by clicking on Download HijackThis Installer
Install, and run it.
Post HijackTHis log.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 06:09:47 PM
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 8:09:40 PM, on 2/28/2009
Platform: Windows Vista SP1 (WinNT 6.00.1905)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6001.18000)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
C:\Windows\RtHDVCpl.exe
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashDisp.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\MOM.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CCC.exe
C:\Program Files\GIGABYTE\I-Cool\icool.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM6\aim6.exe
C:\Program Files\AIM6\aolsoftware.exe
C:\Program Files\uTorrent\uTorrent.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Windows\system32\SearchFilterHost.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
R3 - URLSearchHook: DeviceVM Url Search Hook - {0063BF63-BFFF-4B8F-9D26-4267DF7F17DD} - C:\Windows\System32\dvmurl.dll
O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: McAfee SiteAdvisor BHO - {B164E929-A1B6-4A06-B104-2CD0E90A88FF} - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee\SITEAD~1\mcieplg.dll
O3 - Toolbar: McAfee SiteAdvisor Toolbar - {0EBBBE48-BAD4-4B4C-8E5A-516ABECAE064} - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee\SITEAD~1\mcieplg.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RtHDVCpl] RtHDVCpl.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Skytel] Skytel.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [COMODO Internet Security] "C:\Program Files\COMODO\COMODO Internet Security\cfp.exe" -h
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avast!] C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashDisp.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StartCCC] "C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static\CLIStart.exe" MSRun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LanguageShortcut] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\Language\Language.exe"
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O13 - Gopher Prefix:
O18 - Protocol: sacore - {5513F07E-936B-4E52-9B00-067394E91CC5} - c:\PROGRA~1\mcafee\SITEAD~1\mcieplg.dll
O23 - Service: avast! iAVS4 Control Service (aswUpdSv) - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe
O23 - Service: Ati External Event Utility - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Antivirus - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Mail Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Web Scanner - ALWIL Software - C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe
O23 - Service: COMODO Internet Security Helper Service (cmdAgent) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\COMODO\COMODO Internet Security\cmdagent.exe
O23 - Service: McAfee SiteAdvisor Service - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\McAfee\SiteAdvisor\McSACore.exe
O23 - Service: Cyberlink RichVideo Service(CRVS) (RichVideo) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared Files\RichVideo.exe

--
End of file - 4287 bytes


There you go.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 06:36:30 PM
I see nothing out of order.
Regarding Comodo...are you running firewall only, or a whole suite?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 06:41:36 PM
nope, just the firewall
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 06:45:17 PM
Download Process Explorer: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896653.aspx
Unzip ProcessExplorer.zip, and double click on procexp.exe to run the program.
Go File>Save As, and save the report as Procexp.txt.
Attach the file to your next reply.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 06:50:32 PM
Process   PID   CPU   Description   Company Name
System Idle Process   0   64.18      
 Interrupts   n/a      Hardware Interrupts   
 DPCs   n/a   0.38   Deferred Procedure Calls   
 System   4   0.38      
  smss.exe   528         
csrss.exe   592         
wininit.exe   628         
 services.exe   676         
  svchost.exe   900   16.23      
  svchost.exe   968         
  cmdagent.exe   1072         
  svchost.exe   1116         
  svchost.exe   1132         
  Ati2evxx.exe   1184         
   Ati2evxx.exe   1796         
  svchost.exe   1220   0.76      
   audiodg.exe   1440         
  svchost.exe   1288   10.57      
   dwm.exe   2212   0.76   Desktop Window Manager   Microsoft Corporation
   WUDFHost.exe   3144         
  svchost.exe   1304   0.76      
   taskeng.exe   2168      Task Scheduler Engine   Microsoft Corporation
   taskeng.exe   2436         
   wuauclt.exe   5376      Windows Update Automatic Updates   Microsoft Corporation
  SLsvc.exe   1548         
  svchost.exe   1652         
  aswUpdSv.exe   1960         
  ashServ.exe   2004         
  spoolsv.exe   1364         
  svchost.exe   1352         
  McSACore.exe   2708         
   rundll32.exe   2764         
  svchost.exe   2792         
  RichVideo.exe   2884         
  ashMaiSv.exe   3132         
  ashWebSv.exe   3180         
  svchost.exe   1452         
  VSSVC.exe   4536         
  svchost.exe   5312         
  TrustedInstaller.exe   3556         
  SearchIndexer.exe   1396   0.38      
 lsass.exe   688         
 lsm.exe   696         
csrss.exe   640         
winlogon.exe   812         
explorer.exe   2332   2.27   Windows Explorer   Microsoft Corporation
 RtHDVCpl.exe   2728      HD Audio Control Panel   Realtek Semiconductor
 ashDisp.exe   520      avast! service GUI component   ALWIL Software
 aim6.exe   2088      AIM   AOL LLC
  aolsoftware.exe   1680      AOL   AOL LLC
 firefox.exe   4716   2.64   Firefox   Mozilla Corporation
 procexp.exe   5380   0.38   Sysinternals Process Explorer   Sysinternals - www.sysinternals.com
MOM.exe   1256      Catalyst Control Center: Monitoring program   Advanced Micro Devices Inc.
 CCC.exe   4072      Catalyst Control Centre: Host application   ATI Technologies Inc.
ICool.exe   2836         
HijackThis.exe   2404         
 notepad.exe   5584      

there you go.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 06:54:50 PM
Can you attach .txt file?
It's easier to read columns in Notepad, then in your post.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 07:18:16 PM
yeah, sure.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 07:40:43 PM
Right click on two svchost.exe entries:
- svchost.exe   900   16.23
- svchost.exe   1288   10.57
(in bold are PID numbers)
Click Properties, then Services tab.

Can you post screenshots for both?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 07:55:26 PM
well, I could only find 1 of those.  the 1288 one was not there.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 07:59:19 PM
No, no, I was talking about right clicking on svchost in Process Explorer.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 08:00:33 PM
oh im sorry


ill get right to that.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 08:01:45 PM
No problem :)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 08:03:49 PM
i still could not find the 1288

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 08:08:41 PM
That's fine. 900 process was the main CPU taker. Nothing horrible, but still at 14%.
What do you have connected to your computer, beside monitor, keyboard, and mouse?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 08:10:29 PM
I have my webcam, speakers, internet(wired)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 08:13:37 PM
See, if same thing happens, if you.....

Go Start>Run (Start Search in Vista), type in:
msconfig
Click OK (hit Enter in Vista).

Click on Startup tab.
Click Disable all

Click Services tab.
Put checkmark in Hide all Microsoft services
Click Disable all.

Click OK.
Restart computer in Normal Mode.

NOTE. If you use different firewall, than Windows firewall, turn Windows firewall on, just for this test, since your regular firewall won't be running.
If you use Windows firewall, you're fine.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 08:20:10 PM
okay i did that.  Now what?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 08:21:17 PM
Same CPU usage?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 08:22:19 PM
still 59%
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 08:23:15 PM
It's even more. Same svchost usage?
I'll be gone for couple of hours.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 01, 2009, 08:24:58 PM
It sems to be the same.  Not runing anything more than I was earlier.


Good night broni.  We will pick this up tomorrow.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 01, 2009, 11:18:56 PM
OK.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 01:23:12 PM
alright, so should I change the startup items back to the way they were originally?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 01:32:32 PM
Yes. Restart, and by that time I'll ask you to do something else.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 01:42:39 PM
Get Process Monitor: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896645.aspx
Open it.
Go Filter>Filter...
Select Process Name from drop-down menu, type svchost.exe in the field.
Click Add, then OK.

(http://209.85.48.8/228/109/upload/p4320080.gif)

Go Edit>Clear Display.
From now on, only svchost.exe entries should be displayed.
Run the tool for a few minutes.
Click File>Save
Make sure, the settings read as below:

(http://209.85.48.8/228/109/upload/p4320084.gif)

Save the log to known location.
Zip it, and attach it to your next reply.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 01:53:52 PM
okay, every time i run this, it says I am out of memory.  So I open task manager and it says i am using all 4gb of ram.  What is this about?  So when it says I don;t have enough memory, it shuts down.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 02:05:30 PM
Hmmmm....I have no clue.
Does it happen, when you try to open the program?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 02:07:58 PM
i can open the program just fine, but when it runs for a minute or so, it uses all 4gb of ram, says it is out of memory, then shuts down.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 02:11:23 PM
Are you able to set that filter thing?
If so, running it for a minute will give us a lot of info, if you're bale to save the log.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 02:15:58 PM
I am not able to save the log.  When it tries to save, it loads it for a long time then craches
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 02:29:30 PM
You know what?
Let's make sure....

Read here: http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php/topic,46313.0.html
Start new topic here: http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php/board,7.0.html
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 02:35:17 PM
alright so you think it is a virus or something? 
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 02:38:17 PM
I don't know, but I want to eliminate that option.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 02:39:00 PM
When you post there, please, provide the link here.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 07:20:52 PM
here you go!

http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php/topic,78020.0.html (http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php/topic,78020.0.html)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 07:30:30 PM
I saw all your logs, and they're all clean.
I asked evil to lock that thread.

Very, very puzzling, sir.

I'd like to see one more log....

Download avz4.zip from here (http://z-oleg.com/avz4.zip)
Note: If you recieve an error message, chose a different source, then click Start again
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 07:40:36 PM
im sorry, could you repost that link?  It is a little...well....messed up
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 07:46:55 PM
Sorry for that....edited.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 07:51:25 PM
uhm why isnt anyhtingin english?  it is in numbers and question marks



[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 08:04:05 PM
I have no idea. Bad download?
This is mine:
(http://209.85.48.8/228/109/upload/p4320361.gif)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 08:04:51 PM
It's like something is lurking on your computer.
Process Monitor didn't want to work, now this....
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 08:07:47 PM
...or your fresh Vista installation didn't go smooth....
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 08:13:08 PM
do you think i should reinstall again?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 08:14:41 PM
and ive tried to download all programs that didn't work for a second time and got the same results.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 08:16:07 PM
oh hey!  I tried again and it worked correctly!
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 08:18:03 PM
Cool.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 08:20:27 PM
now where do i navigate to find the log?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 08:25:52 PM
Quote
# Navigate to the avz4 folder and locate the folder LOG
# Inside the LOG folder you will find virusinfo_syscheck.htm and virusinfo_syscheck.zip
# Attach the compressed file, virusinfo_syscheck.zip, to your next reply.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 08:29:02 PM
okay, uhm i think i got this right...

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 02, 2009, 08:38:34 PM
Well, if you can do anything with that, go ahead, but I think i need to pack it in for the night.  I will be back in about 30 min if I posted the wrong file.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 08:49:47 PM
The file is good. I just checked. It takes a while, though, to go through it, so you have a good night. I'll check it out...
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 02, 2009, 09:53:12 PM
Unfortunately, I see completely nothing extraordinary.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 02:43:25 PM
Well then..any other ideas?  I don't know what to do anymore!
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 02:46:04 PM
Honestly, I'd try to reinstall Vista.

However, before you do that, I'd also...
Run hard drive diagnostics: http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287
Run memtest: http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic62524.html
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 02:56:49 PM
alrighty, well then, I'll try a reinstalll.  But there is a problem with that.  When I try to run Dban, it loads the screen and I tell it what to do,  but it freezes while "searching for the floppy".  I don;t even have a floppy!  And also, I cannot boot the Vista dvd without going into windows.  I mean I tell my computer to boot form cd in the bios, but it never does.  What do I do?  What is happening?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 03:10:30 PM
As I said, something is not right.
Create those two bootable CDs, and see, if they'll boot.
I suspect some hardware problem.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 03:12:52 PM
well, the gpu fan sticks often.  So I have to give it a small push.  Alright, I'll be right back.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: patio on March 03, 2009, 03:15:59 PM
well, the gpu fan sticks often.  So I have to give it a small push.  Alright, I'll be right back.
This would have been usefull info...bout 4 pages ago.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 03:28:38 PM
HAha sorry.  I neevr knew it would be a problem :'( :'(
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 03:35:14 PM
Well, I have just come to an epiphaney or something.  The one and olny time I have ever been able to boot from the cd is when I first installed xp.  That was only in december.  Could it be some incorrect settings?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 03:39:29 PM
Quote
I neevr knew it would be a problem
You owe me 5 bucks per page ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Glitch on March 03, 2009, 03:40:38 PM
Wait...isn't this free computer help? ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 03:44:42 PM
In some extreme cases....no ::)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 03:45:24 PM
BTW, questions like that - $1.25 per question  ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 03:45:35 PM
well, I'll make you a deal....I will force computeruler to cough up some giftcards if you will help me with this...
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 03:50:30 PM
Compruler is pretty tough on those. I don't know.....
I'd start with replacing that sticking fan, or a whole card.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 04:00:17 PM
well, why do you think it won't boot cd's?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 04:25:26 PM
I have no idea, but may try another bootable CD, like memtest.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 07:51:47 PM
tried to do those tests...didn't work.  Went through 6 cds.  I did get vista to boot though.  CLean install, of course.  To no avail though.  Still using a lot of cpu for nothing.  What the heck!  cCould it be something obvious, like a program that is running, but doesn't have to be?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 07:56:49 PM
I'm 100% sure, it's not software. We checked those back, and forth.
How come Vista DVD worked, and the other bootable CDs didn't.
Those test in this situation would be important.
Maybe, there is something wrong with your optical drive...
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 08:02:44 PM
Well, sometimes it works.  Could it be how I made the cds?  Perhaps I didn't make them bootable.  What program do you recommend and how can I be sure they will boot?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 08:15:07 PM
Let's say, memtest.
Downloaded file is zipped .iso file.
You unzip it, and you have an .iso file.
I use ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/index.php?act=download to burn .iso file, and make the CD bootable.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 03, 2009, 08:24:28 PM
Okay, well, I'll try that tomorrow.  Also, it never acted up like this with xp.  Should I just wait it out till windows 7 or what?  We will pick this up tomorrow(sorry :-\)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 03, 2009, 08:49:48 PM
No problem :)
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 04, 2009, 05:51:51 AM
your optical drive must be broken if that doesnt work.  If you get another drive and that doesnt work then I blame your motherboard
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Glitch on March 04, 2009, 07:02:19 AM
It certainly is possible that your upgrade to Vista Ultimate could be causing a hardware conflict.  Did you check to see if your hardware was compatible before upgrading?  You stated you were running XP prior.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 10:13:33 AM
Quote
amd phenom 9600 quad core 2.3ghz

4.00gb ram

431 of 465gb hdd space is free
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Glitch on March 04, 2009, 10:19:18 AM
My bad...
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 10:40:29 AM
It's OK. It's a loooooooooooooooong thread.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 02:16:19 PM
Well, in the vista upgrade advisor it said everything was compatible.  Heres another small thought....Could it be an outdated driver?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 02:24:49 PM
Disconnect CD drive, and try again.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 02:31:14 PM
I'm sorry, what?  I have found out that it is me causing the problem.  I have been creating the cd's wrong.  Because the xp and vista cds, which I didn't make work just fine.  But most of the cds I have created recently don't work.  This is my fault.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 02:32:47 PM
So, ow, you created right CDs?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 04:12:57 PM
well, I'm not sure.  How can i be sure before I waste another cd?
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 04, 2009, 04:15:26 PM
let me crossloop with you and ill make the cd for you
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 04:19:32 PM
okay :D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 04:42:25 PM
You said:
Quote
I have been creating the cd's wrong.
That's why, I asked.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 04, 2009, 05:11:16 PM
I made the cd right for him and hes running it now
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 05:30:25 PM
You live nearby?? ???
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: patio on March 04, 2009, 05:47:49 PM
This should be good...
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 04, 2009, 05:54:48 PM
explain why it should be good. And I did it through the internet using crossloop and made it on his computer.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 05:57:58 PM
Ha no, we used crossloop, and yes he does live nearby....about 5 miles and a river away...depending on what route you decide to take...
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 06:22:46 PM
Now, we know....
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 07:31:04 PM
yes you do.
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 04, 2009, 07:32:56 PM
he knows to much!!!!!  :o
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 07:33:43 PM
I told you not to try Chrome ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 07:56:44 PM
chrome is sooo 5 minutes ago! 
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 07:58:05 PM
But Compruler is a very curious person, so now he's paying the price ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 08:02:57 PM
is he paying it in GIFTCARDS?!
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 08:07:33 PM
I don't know about gift cards, but he definitely screwed up my gift certificates ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 08:10:02 PM
oh my bad.  Well, maybe he should be giving you some gift certificates for all the work you have done for him... ;D ;D ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 08:13:18 PM
I've been trying for several months, but it's like talking to a wall ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: paudashlake on March 04, 2009, 08:14:19 PM
Well, like he always says to me:  "Don't follow in my footsteps; I walk into walls"
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 04, 2009, 08:17:32 PM
Maybe so, but when it comes to spending MY gift certificates, somehow he's finding his ways to Best Buy ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 05, 2009, 01:35:57 PM
Hey! I never said that!  >:(
@broni thats what my dad always tells me  ::) about the talking to walls
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 05, 2009, 03:16:33 PM
See? With my life experience, I already knew that  ;D
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: computeruler on March 05, 2009, 05:25:34 PM
your good!
Title: Re: Vista ultimate excessive cpu usage
Post by: Broni on March 05, 2009, 08:39:17 PM
I know :)