Computer Hope

Microsoft => Microsoft Windows => Windows Vista and 7 => Topic started by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 12:07:33 AM

Title: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 12:07:33 AM
Hi,

I had been experiencing extreme slowness by my computer for a couple of weeks now, and could not find the source of this, so I decided to reformat my computer. (Everything seemed fine one night, and the next morning, everything was very slow). Before reformatting, I ran every antivirus and antispyware I know of, and they all said everything was clean.

So as I said, I decided to reformat. However, my computer (core 2 duo @ 2.00 GHz with 2GB of RAM) is still extremely slow for a system that has just been whiped out cleanly. I doubt this is caused by Vista since the problem was there before I reformated (and I had XP Pro then) and it's probably a hardware problem, but I'm stuck!

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 06:25:21 AM
How does the system respond in safe mode?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 08:03:07 AM
Hi ADG,

I just started the system in safe mode, and it was a bit better, but still nowhere close to what you would expect. (Last night, my CPU usage was hovering around 50%... when it was idle!)

Thanks,

Nick
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 09:05:22 AM
Okay - you should have told us that right off. Boot to normal mode and open Task Manager to the Processes tab. Sort on the cpu column with highest usage at the top (double-click the "cpu" title at the top of the column). When the system slows, see which process is eating the cycles and report back.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 09:09:09 AM
Hi ADG,

Fact is, the computer is always slow; it took my 4 minutes for the Task Manager to open! Anyway, when all programs are closed (and the computer is still very slow), not one process is over 10 000 K, which I believe is normal. Before the sudden performance drop, I could have more and bigger processes running all at the same time and everything was fine.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 09:10:32 AM
I didn't say ram, I said cpu. You said the cpu is running at 50% and I asked which process is hogging the cpu. Please do as I asked.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 09:31:58 AM
Oh, sorry I misunderstood you. Anyway, all of the processess are at 0. Sometimes, the Task Manager got up to 04 or 05, but it was the only one above 0.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 09:34:54 AM
Okay, just keep task manager open on your desktop and when the cpu spikes take a look and see which process it is.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 09:42:57 AM
ADG,

Even when the CPU "spikes", all of the process indicate 00. If I have absolutely nothing running, it still takes me about 15-20 seconds to open My Computer or IE, but none of the process indicate anything besides the occasional 01 from Task Manager...
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 10:11:11 AM
Impossible. If the cpu spikes then one of the running processes has to spike also. Did you sort the cpu column as I suggested?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 02:19:08 PM
In the Task Manager make sure that you have checked the box for 'Show processes from all users'.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 03:01:12 PM
So, I just come back from work 5 hours after my last post, and find my computer shut down. Thinking we may have had a power outage or whatever, I just turn it on but the monitor just won't respond. It insists on telling me "No signal"... so I guess this could be a video card problem?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Broni on August 23, 2009, 03:07:46 PM
It definitely looks like some hardware problem.
I doubt, it's the monitor, since the problems started before "no signal" message.

What brand and model of the computer is it?
On-board video, or separate video card?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Centurion on August 23, 2009, 03:08:40 PM
Are your fans clean? Check BIOS for M-Board and HDD temp.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 03:13:25 PM
Thanks Broni and Centurion for your replies.

It is a computer I built myself 2 years ago. It has a seperate video card, an EVGA 8800 GTS.


And my fans are cery dusty... could this be the problem? I, however, cannot access the BIOS since my monitor stays blank!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 03:15:01 PM
Do you have the option of trying a different Video Adapter, without running out and spending a whack of cash?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Broni on August 23, 2009, 03:16:58 PM
Try removing video card altogether. Hopefully, on-board video will kick in. At least, you should see boot screen to access BIOS, and enable on-board video.
If you still can't see even boot screen, try another monitor/another cable.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 03:23:40 PM
Quantos, I'm not sure exactly what you mean...

And hmmm Broni... the place where I would plug the monitor on the mobo isn't VGI like my cable... :(
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 03:25:09 PM
Nevermind, I just got the monitor to work again!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 03:26:11 PM
Excellent, glad to hear it, and thanks for letting us know.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Broni on August 23, 2009, 03:29:33 PM
Quote
I just got the monitor to work again!
What happened?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 03:30:14 PM
Yes, I forgot to ask.

*goes to put on more coffee*
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 03:33:45 PM
Use a can of compressed air and blow out the interior of the system. That absolutely could be the problem.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 03:36:19 PM
I changed the cable linking my monitor to my video card, and tightened the video card as it was loose a bit.

How is your coffee Quantos? :P (it's 5:36 PM here)

And Ii will do just this ADG! Can I buy compressed air at the local hardware store?

Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 03:38:23 PM
And Ii will do just this ADG! Can I buy compressed air at the local hardware store?

You can, but make sure that it is rated for electronics.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 03:41:40 PM
You can, but make sure that it is rated for electronics.

I guess such information can be found on the can itself?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 03:43:30 PM
Actually I just use whatever I get my hands on at Staples, Walmart or where ever. It's air, let's not be fanatical about it ;)
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 03:46:01 PM
Actually I just use whatever I get my hands on at Staples, Walmart or where ever. It's air, let's not be fanatical about it ;)

There are some types that you can find in a hardware store that are not moisture controlled.  They are intended more for applications where a standard air compressor is not an option(usually access). 
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 03:47:56 PM
Yeah, I know. I've never had a problem and I've been doing it for a long time. I'm always careful, but I also believe there such a thing as worrying too much ;)
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 03:54:46 PM
Yeah, I know. I've never had a problem and I've been doing it for a long time. I'm always careful, but I also believe there such a thing as worrying too much ;)

OMG, the sky is falling, help me  :)
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 04:03:05 PM
Alright, so I'll buy a can tomorrow and let youy guys know what is up with my computer later this week.

Thanks to everyone for their help!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 04:04:05 PM
Something else you should do is to replace the thermal paste between the CPU and heat sink.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 04:06:15 PM
OMG, the sky is falling, help me  :)
;D
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 04:10:44 PM
I kind of thought you'd appreciate that one.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 23, 2009, 04:25:16 PM
Doesn't take people long to figure me out, huh?  8)
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 04:27:29 PM
Doesn't take people long to figure me out, huh?  8)

You're almost as predictable as I am.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 06:15:51 PM
Something else you should do is to replace the thermal paste between the CPU and heat sink.

Could you please tell me how this is done?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 23, 2009, 06:16:08 PM
Well.....almost.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 06:17:03 PM
Could you please tell me how this is done?

There's a great how-to Here (http://www.arcticsilver.com/instructions.htm).
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 23, 2009, 06:21:51 PM
There's a great how-to Here (http://www.arcticsilver.com/instructions.htm).

Cool, thanks alot for your help!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Quantos on August 23, 2009, 06:22:47 PM
No problem, let us know how it works out.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 24, 2009, 03:36:19 PM
So, I come back home from work today only to find out the computer powered off again. (It happened to me yesterday. I came home and it was turned off). Only this time, I cannot get it to start again... could this be a power supply problem?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 24, 2009, 03:37:26 PM
So it would seem.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 24, 2009, 03:39:01 PM
Any suggestion other than buying another PSU? (I have yet to clean it off).
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 24, 2009, 03:41:26 PM
Borrow a known good one of the same or greater wattage and swap it in there...
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 24, 2009, 03:41:34 PM
I'd suggest buying one, but make sure wherever you get it from has a return policy in case that's not the problem. That way there's no harm in trying the PSU.

EDIT - oops - we posted at the same time, but we're essentially saying the same thing.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 24, 2009, 04:13:07 PM
Ok, since I have no one I could borrow it from, I will just order a new one online and RMA it if that was not the case.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 24, 2009, 04:19:51 PM
There you go :)
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 24, 2009, 04:29:03 PM
Hehe, I'll order it tonight and let you guys know once it arrives.

Thanks again for all the help!

(Any particular brand you'd recommend?)

I was thinking of getting this: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=36933&promoid=1066

I currently have a 450W PSU, but since I am running a core 2 [email protected] 2 Ghz and an evga 8800 GTS, I guess 20 watts less would not make a difference.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 24, 2009, 04:36:52 PM
Antec is a good brand...go 600+ or better...plan for the future.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 24, 2009, 04:40:00 PM
Antec is a good brand...go 600+ or better...plan for the future.

The one we currently believe has failed is an Antec one, but that would be the first time one of their product has failed me. Also, my systems are usually pretty basic... do I need a 600+ W PSU for that?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 24, 2009, 04:41:45 PM
Only you can decide that...do you plan on building/upgrading in the near future ? ?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 24, 2009, 04:43:43 PM
Only you can decide that...do you plan on building/upgrading in the near future ? ?

Actually I do... I was thinking new processor with 4 GB of DDR2 ram (I currently have 2 GB)
 either that or something that runs on DDR3
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 24, 2009, 04:48:08 PM
Then buy more power...you'll need it.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 24, 2009, 08:18:39 PM
Before buying a new PSU, I decided to try and clean out everything inside the computer. I got the computer to boot up again, although no connection is made from the computer to the monitor and I don't hear the regular "beep" when starting up the computer.

(Some liquid from the compressed air can may have gotten in contact with my motherboard and video card).
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: smeezekitty on August 24, 2009, 11:42:03 PM
A why is there liquid in the compressed air
B make sure you dry that off
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: BC_Programmer on August 25, 2009, 05:20:11 AM
A why is there liquid in the compressed air


It's called Propellant.


Do you have a spare video card you can use?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 06:20:18 AM
Smeezekitty,

Once the propellant got in contact with the video card and motherboard, it dried off almost immediatly.

I also don't have a spare video card I can use... :S
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 25, 2009, 06:51:45 AM
The propellant will not harm any components.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 07:14:37 AM
The propellant will not harm any components.

Awesome! :P

Now the computer can ''boot'': It will turn on, but I see nothing on the screen and don't hear the regular beep upon pressing the power button.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 25, 2009, 07:27:26 AM
Power down and unplug.
Reseat all RAM and addon cards.
Double check the monitor connection.
Plug in and power back up.
If no joy-joy try another monitor.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 11:35:23 AM
Ok, I just did all of what patio suggested, and I am still stuck with the same problem! :(
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 25, 2009, 11:36:33 AM
Weren't you going to try a new psu?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 11:40:11 AM
Yes, but I didn't want to pay the super-expensive-for-nothing overnight shipping fees! :P
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: smeezekitty on August 25, 2009, 11:41:19 AM
just use reguler speed shipping
and try other things while your waiting
unless thats what you did in that case ignore this post
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 25, 2009, 03:01:44 PM
Borrow one overnight of the same or greater wattage and swap it in there...you will soon know if that's the issue without spending a dime or waiting for shipping...
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 04:37:09 PM
I had planned on isolating each component other than the power supply to see exactly where the problem could be. I started by removing the video card, and reseating my RAM. Now, when I startup, I have the 1 long, 3 short beeps error message (heck, better than no beep at all! :P) Accoring to this: http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm#04 , it would be a memory failure. I am now inclined to think the RAM might have been the issue.

(I have ruled out the motherboard as the problem because when I turn the power on, the green light in the corner of the motherboard lights on).

Any idea to test the RAM? (I have no other DDR2 sticks I could test it with).
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 25, 2009, 04:54:36 PM
DLoad and run MemTest...let it run for at least 2 hours...
Any errors at all and it's the RAM...

DISCLAIMER: A weak/failing PSU will create issues with RAM;CPU;HDD etc.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 04:58:59 PM
So you are suggesting I put the RAM and Video Card back in, and then hope for something on my monitor? I had no signal before....

I'm trying this as we speak!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 25, 2009, 05:03:09 PM
It may boot to the MemTest bootable CD and give you a video signal...
Do you see anything on the screen at all at POST ? ?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 05:16:15 PM
Yes, I am now able to see something at POST!
I also hear the normal single beep when I start up the computer now.
Heck, I'm even in Windows now! :)

Only problem is, I still stuck with the extreme slowness that was my problem to begin with.
Do you suggest downloading Memtest and running it for the night to see if it finds anything?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: smeezekitty on August 25, 2009, 05:18:38 PM
yes
before it stops booting again
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 05:26:00 PM
I am unfamiliar with Memtest; only available options to download appear to be bootable versions... do I need to burn it on a CD (if so, how?) or can I just run it from Windows?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: smeezekitty on August 25, 2009, 05:30:55 PM
it is bootable
patio knows more about it then i do
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 25, 2009, 08:09:41 PM
Would you have any free software to recommend that has the "Burn Image" option. (It appears I need this for Memtest).
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Karnac on August 25, 2009, 08:14:47 PM
http://cdburnerxp.se/
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 25, 2009, 10:59:26 PM
IMGBurn....Free.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 26, 2009, 06:32:57 AM
Ok, thanks guys! :)

Anyway, I ran Memtest for 9 and a half hours, and it found no error whatsoever.
That tells me the RAM is not the issue...
Are there any more programs out there to test different components? CPU maybe?

Thanks
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: smeezekitty on August 26, 2009, 11:04:34 AM
never heard of CPU test
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: patio on August 26, 2009, 02:42:33 PM
never heard of CPU test

So ? ?
What's your point ? ?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 26, 2009, 04:56:19 PM
Ok, so as I said earlier, I ran Memtest for 9+ hours, and it didn't find anything.
I also ran Data Lifeguard for my Western Digital HD and everything was fine.
I'm thinking about going back to XP to see if that will solve the problem... unless there are more hardwarre testing programs out there that someone would recommend.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: smeezekitty on August 26, 2009, 05:00:18 PM
download speedfan and post your temps
then go to the SMART tab and post how high the two bars are at the bottom
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 26, 2009, 05:14:24 PM
While Idle:

GPU: 59
System : 45
CPU: 25
AUX: 46
CPU: 49
Local: 48
Remote 2 :49
Ccore 0: 25
Core 1: 25

I also don't see any bars at the bottom of the SMART tab.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 26, 2009, 09:21:07 PM
Ok, so I tried going back to Win XP PRO. However, after it has reformated the partition, I get a message saying it could not be reformated properly because "the disk might be damaged". Do they mean my OS disk or the HDD? My XP PRO CD seems to have a couple of scratches on it, but nothing major.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: smeezekitty on August 26, 2009, 09:30:03 PM
i think the HDD
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Snickers on August 27, 2009, 06:52:32 AM
i think the HDD

Anybody care to confirm this?
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: Allan on August 27, 2009, 06:59:16 AM
To be perfectly candid my friend, this thread has gone in so many directions I don't know how anyone can confirm anything. Download the HD test / check utility for your model hd from the oem website and run it.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: brisingr on August 29, 2009, 06:30:43 PM
Anybody care to confirm this?
the window xp pro disc cannot be formatted, so therefore it is the hardrive that is damaged. You might have to replace your hardrive.
Title: Re: Performance drop... Vista Related?
Post by: brisingr on August 29, 2009, 06:33:51 PM
your damaged hardrive can also explain your CPU spikes you mentioned in the beginning of this forum.