Computer Hope

Software => Computer viruses and spyware => Topic started by: wombat99 on December 08, 2009, 12:47:27 PM

Title: F8 doesn't work
Post by: wombat99 on December 08, 2009, 12:47:27 PM
OK then, but how do you start the recovery console on XP?
Thanks, Jeff

=====
Well, on startup you see the normal screen listing drives for a second, but even if you have F8 down this comes up:

TRAP 00000006=======EXCEPTION=======
tr=002 cr0=00000011 cr2=00000000 cr3=00039000
gdt limit=03FF base=0003F000 idt limit=07FF base=0003F400
cs:eip=0008:0040737F SS:esp=0010:0005F95C errcode=0000
flags=00010086 NoCy NoZr IntDis Down TrapDis
eax=0008000 ebx=00008000 exc=00000000 edx=00480001 ds=0010 es=0010
edi=88587588 esi=00488000 ebp=0005F978 cr0=80000011 fs=0030 gs=0000
 
   Report abuse | 174.91.46.177
Allan
Egghead
*
Posts: 2986

Thanked: 189
OS: Windows Vista
Experience: Guru



985598
View Profile WWW Online    
Re: F8 doesn't work
Reply #4 on: Today at 09:58:07 AM    Reply with quote
When did this start?
Did XP ever boot correctly?
What is different since the last time it did boot correctly (new hw, sw, virus, error, etc)?
What type of system?
Have you run a diagnostic on your ram?
Have you recently flashed the bios?
Have you tried booting to the recovery console and running chkdsk /r
   Thank Allan for their post. | Report abuse | IP logged
Allan
Forum Admin
Tweaks.com
wombat99
Topic Starter
Starter
*
Posts: 3

Thanked: 0
OS: Windows XP
Experience: Beginner


View Profile Online    
Re: F8 doesn't work
Reply #5 on: Today at 12:24:56 PM    Reply with quote Modify message
I think it was a virus last night. XP booted fine before that.
chkdsk /r ? Don't you have to use an F key to do that? The F keys don't work. I don't know how to do a RAM diagnostic or flash BIOS, but don't you have to use an F key for them, too?
Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it, Jeff
   Report abuse | 204.187.150.30
Allan
Egghead
*
Posts: 2986

Thanked: 189
OS: Windows Vista
Experience: Guru



985598
View Profile WWW Online    
Re: F8 doesn't work
Reply #6 on: Today at 12:35:13 PM    Reply with quote
No, you do not need F8 for the recovery console. But more important, did you think you should tell us about the virus?

You need to post in the Virus & Malware section of this forum.
Title: Re: F8 doesn't work
Post by: Two-eyes on December 08, 2009, 01:36:44 PM
see the "read this first" post in this forum.  (it's at the top).  Follow all instructions and post the three logs.  Then and only then will an expert (not me) be able to help you.