Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: built new pc wont power on  (Read 4545 times)

mstrssofposeidon

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

built new pc wont power on
    « on: March 30, 2010, 09:58:48 PM »
    Hey there, Im a first time computer builder here and Im having some problems.
    Here is the hardware I have:

Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3750528AS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM
    COOLER MASTER Elite RC-310-OWR460 Black SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case RS-460-PSAR-J3, Elite 460W Power Supply - Retail
    ASUS M4A785-M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
    AMD Athlon II X2 245 Regor 2.9GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core Processor Model ADX245OCGQBOX - Retail
    CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5C - Retail

So I assembled everything, I think correctly. Two things I noted that were weird were:
    1.The power supply has 2 cables to connect to the motherboard. One is a 4 pin the other a 20 pin. However the motherboard has a slot for a 4 pin and a 24 pin. It does state in the manual that you can still use the 20 pin though. Unless there is maybe an additonal 4 pin Im missing to add to the 20 pin? But P1 is the 20 pin and P2 is the 4 pin as labeled. (I bought these as a combo deal from newegg so I know they are all compatable). There are extra power cables that I dont have a connection for, numerous larger 4 pin white component connections, one 6 pin black one (3 on top of 3), and on extra 4 pin white (2 square over 2 square) one.