Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Connected, but unable to access internet...?  (Read 10750 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

JulieMills

    Topic Starter


    Rookie

    Connected, but unable to access internet...?
    « on: August 02, 2010, 03:14:54 AM »
    Firstly, I'm not a techie... so bear with me!
    My laptop is saying I'm connected to my wireless router, but I am unable to access the internet  ???
    I've just returned from holiday and was using my laptop whilst away, but have since been unable to get back on my home network.
    I'm using Windows 7.
    Any help welcomed!

    Carbon Dudeoxide

    • Global Moderator

    • Mastermind
    • Thanked: 168
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • Yes
    • Certifications: List
    • Experience: Guru
    • OS: Mac OS
    Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
    « Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 03:24:11 AM »
    Quick test, unplugnyour router's power cable for about 20 seconds and connect to it again, see if your interner connection returns.
    I sometimes get the same problem. Just gotta restart the router.

    If it works, let us know.
    If not, well, let us know too. ;)

    JulieMills

      Topic Starter


      Rookie

      Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
      « Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 03:53:26 AM »
      It worked briefly - on a linksys network (which isn't my default), but has disconnected again....

      JulieMills

        Topic Starter


        Rookie

        Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
        « Reply #3 on: August 02, 2010, 03:59:36 AM »
        Duplicate post.

        grandpa_simpson

        • Guest
        Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
        « Reply #4 on: August 02, 2010, 04:33:29 AM »
        Do you have a cable you can use to connect to the router, instead of wireless, just to confirm the problem is exclusive to wi-fi ?

        JulieMills

          Topic Starter


          Rookie

          Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
          « Reply #5 on: August 02, 2010, 04:40:32 AM »
          I'm using the same network to access my cable connected pc, so the problem definitely is a wi-fi one...

          grandpa_simpson

          • Guest
          Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
          « Reply #6 on: August 02, 2010, 05:26:44 AM »
          I'm not sure what you mean by that..  Is the other computer able to connect to the Internet ?





          Carbon Dudeoxide

          • Global Moderator

          • Mastermind
          • Thanked: 168
            • Yes
            • Yes
            • Yes
          • Certifications: List
          • Experience: Guru
          • OS: Mac OS
          Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
          « Reply #7 on: August 02, 2010, 05:33:24 AM »
          Just to clarify, wired and wireless both have the problem?

          On any computer, go to Command Prompt and type the follow
          Code: [Select]
          ipconfig /allAnd press Enter.

          Post the Default Gateway. We may need this.

          JulieMills

            Topic Starter


            Rookie

            Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
            « Reply #8 on: August 02, 2010, 06:52:25 AM »
            I have a desktop that is connected via cable and a laptop which is wi-fi - the desktop is working fine, but the laptop is connected but has no internet access.
            I'll key in the config details from the lap top....

            Carbon Dudeoxide

            • Global Moderator

            • Mastermind
            • Thanked: 168
              • Yes
              • Yes
              • Yes
            • Certifications: List
            • Experience: Guru
            • OS: Mac OS
            Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
            « Reply #9 on: August 02, 2010, 07:11:09 AM »
            Oh so the desktop computer is always connected, whereas the wireless laptop periodically loses connection?

            grandpa_simpson

            • Guest
            Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
            « Reply #10 on: August 02, 2010, 07:11:20 AM »
            Ok good..  We've confirmed that the router is indeed working and there is a working Internet connection.  

            Now we need to make sure you got a connection to the dhcp server (in your case, the router) and that the router is rendering you an IP address. Next step is to do what Carbon said...   Click START, type "RUN" into the search box, when it shows up in the menu click on it.. type   CMD  into the RUN dialoge box and press enter..

            type IPCONFIG at the prompt and press enter..

            Does is show a default gateway address, IP address, and subnet mask ?

            JulieMills

              Topic Starter


              Rookie

              Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
              « Reply #11 on: August 02, 2010, 07:47:25 AM »
              This is from the desktop pc:

                      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D525JF1J
                      Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
                      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
                      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
                      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
                      DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

              Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

                      Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : home
                      Description : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
                      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-1F-5D-ED-D3
                      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
                      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
                      IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.70
                      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
                      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
                      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
                      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
                      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02 August 2010 10:46:16
                      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 03 August 2010 10:46:16



              This is from the laptop:


                      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
                      Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
                      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
                      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
                      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
                      DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home

              Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

              Media State : media disconnected
              Description : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
              Physical Address: 2A-81-58-F0-F0-3C
              Dhcp Enabled: Yes
              Auto configuration Enabled : Yes

              Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
              Media state: Media disconnected
              Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
              Description: Marvell Yukon 88E8059 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
              Physical Address: 00-24-BE-BC-AB-8F
              DHCP Enabled: YES
              Auto configuration Enabled: Yes

              Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
              Connection-specific DNS suffix: home
              Description: Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
              Physical Address: 2C-81-58-F9-F0-3C
              Link-local IPv6 address: fe80 : : c42a : 5da9 : e09f : 2eb8%11 (preferred)
              IPv4 address: 192.168.1.68 (preferred)
              Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0
              Default Gateway: 192.168.1.254
              DHCP server: 192.168.1.254
              DHCPv6 IAID: 184559198

              There's more info, but I'm manually keying it in... :( Hopefully the above will be helpful in the meantime...

              Allan

              • Moderator

              • Mastermind
              • Thanked: 1211
              • Experience: Guru
              • OS: Windows 10
              Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
              « Reply #12 on: August 02, 2010, 07:50:12 AM »
              If you were using it while you were away the network is set up to use the wireless connection that no longer exists. Go into Network Settings and choose your wireless connection as the default.

              Carbon Dudeoxide

              • Global Moderator

              • Mastermind
              • Thanked: 168
                • Yes
                • Yes
                • Yes
              • Certifications: List
              • Experience: Guru
              • OS: Mac OS
              Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
              « Reply #13 on: August 02, 2010, 07:53:32 AM »
              Yep, and make sure your network has top priority in the list.


              Quick Q, have you tried the laptop via Internet cable to make sure it's not a laptop problem?

              In addition to that, can you tell us the model number of your router.

              JulieMills

                Topic Starter


                Rookie

                Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                « Reply #14 on: August 02, 2010, 08:10:16 AM »
                My network is showing as my default (and is top of the list) - saying connected, but no internet...?
                I haven't tried using a cable to connect, but will...
                I'm not sure how I get my router model number.... It's a BTHomeHub.2.0 if that helps?

                Carbon Dudeoxide

                • Global Moderator

                • Mastermind
                • Thanked: 168
                  • Yes
                  • Yes
                  • Yes
                • Certifications: List
                • Experience: Guru
                • OS: Mac OS
                Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                « Reply #15 on: August 02, 2010, 08:22:00 AM »
                Interesting....

                http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BT_Home_Hub

                Neve heard of such devices until now. Router combined with phone....



                If you look here, is it e same problem you're having?

                http://www.fmforums.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=112966

                grandpa_simpson

                • Guest
                Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                « Reply #16 on: August 02, 2010, 08:27:04 AM »
                My intent on using a cable was to help determine whether there is a working Internet connection.  The other computer works with the cable so there is certainly Internet connectivity and the cable is not needed.  If the laptop is able to connect using a cable, we still have to get the wi-fi fixed. 

                We've now determined that you are recieving an IP address from the router, but no Internet connectivity..

                Restart the computer and tap F8 until you see "advanced boot options", select "safe mode with networking" and press enter.. When it boots up, try connecting to the Internet with wi-fi..

                Carbon Dudeoxide

                • Global Moderator

                • Mastermind
                • Thanked: 168
                  • Yes
                  • Yes
                  • Yes
                • Certifications: List
                • Experience: Guru
                • OS: Mac OS
                Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                « Reply #17 on: August 02, 2010, 08:28:56 AM »
                Did wifi adapters work in Safe Mode? I thougt they were disabled?

                grandpa_simpson

                • Guest
                Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                « Reply #18 on: August 02, 2010, 08:37:29 AM »
                yes, "safe mode with networking" loads the necessary drivers for networking..   :)      Including wi-fi drivers


                edit: safe mode with networking really doesn't fix anything either... even if it works, it only serves as a basic referrence as to what is wrong... (SOFTWARE)

                Virus scans and a good software shake-down will need to be done




                JulieMills

                  Topic Starter


                  Rookie

                  Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                  « Reply #19 on: August 02, 2010, 08:40:12 AM »
                  Restart the computer and tap F8 until you see "advanced boot options", select "safe mode with networking" and press enter.. When it boots up, try connecting to the Internet with wi-fi..
                  When you say restart the computer, I'm presuming you meant laptop (the one that I can't get connected?  I rebooted but the F8 function did nothing...?

                  Allan

                  • Moderator

                  • Mastermind
                  • Thanked: 1211
                  • Experience: Guru
                  • OS: Windows 10
                  Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                  « Reply #20 on: August 02, 2010, 08:40:57 AM »
                  can you ping?

                  JulieMills

                    Topic Starter


                    Rookie

                    Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                    « Reply #21 on: August 02, 2010, 08:42:31 AM »
                    can you ping?
                    I don't know how! I told you all, I'm totally out of my comfort zone here!

                    JulieMills

                      Topic Starter


                      Rookie

                      Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                      « Reply #22 on: August 02, 2010, 08:44:31 AM »

                      Virus scans and a good software shake-down will need to be done

                      My McAfee is disabled on the laptop too - so no virus scanning!

                      JulieMills

                        Topic Starter


                        Rookie

                        Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                        « Reply #23 on: August 02, 2010, 08:47:51 AM »
                        I don't know how! I told you all, I'm totally out of my comfort zone here!
                        No, I can't ping - saying ping request could find host.

                        grandpa_simpson

                        • Guest
                        Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                        « Reply #24 on: August 02, 2010, 08:52:44 AM »
                        My McAfee is disabled on the laptop too - so no virus scanning!

                        When we get to that, we'll cross that bridge... no worry for now

                        I'm sure she can ping because she is getting valid ip address from the router... Wouldn't hurt to check though..

                        Try getting into Safe Mode with networking and ping from there...  Try again.. Restart and immediately tap F8 until you see alternate options... select safe mode with networking...     

                        Allan

                        • Moderator

                        • Mastermind
                        • Thanked: 1211
                        • Experience: Guru
                        • OS: Windows 10
                        Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                        « Reply #25 on: August 02, 2010, 08:54:52 AM »
                        Okay. First, I am not a fan of McAfee. But it's better than nothing and you should not be running your system without an active antivirus utility. Also, as CD suggested above please try a wired connection to your modem and let's make sure that works.

                        grandpa_simpson

                        • Guest
                        Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                        « Reply #26 on: August 02, 2010, 08:57:36 AM »
                        No, I can't ping - saying ping request could find host.

                        guess I missed that....    It could be viruses or software

                        Carbon Dudeoxide

                        • Global Moderator

                        • Mastermind
                        • Thanked: 168
                          • Yes
                          • Yes
                          • Yes
                        • Certifications: List
                        • Experience: Guru
                        • OS: Mac OS
                        Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                        « Reply #27 on: August 02, 2010, 08:58:09 AM »
                        My advice for a first step; try wired.

                        JulieMills

                          Topic Starter


                          Rookie

                          Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                          « Reply #28 on: August 02, 2010, 09:02:35 AM »
                          @Grandpa Simpson - I'm in F8 - I was too slow last time...   - what now???!
                          I think your now all trying to tell me to plug in ;D I will do it now!

                          grandpa_simpson

                          • Guest
                          Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                          « Reply #29 on: August 02, 2010, 09:06:15 AM »
                          Well since your there, don't plug in, YET... Try connecting with wi-fi..   Make sure you select Safe Mode with Networking


                          I can feel it, this is going to be a six-pager   8)


                          JulieMills

                            Topic Starter


                            Rookie

                            Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                            « Reply #30 on: August 02, 2010, 09:08:32 AM »
                            I haven't plug in yet, had to find the charger for my laptop - let's make that a 7 pager!!
                            Ok, back to safe mode then...

                            grandpa_simpson

                            • Guest
                            Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                            « Reply #31 on: August 02, 2010, 09:10:26 AM »
                            Safe Mode with Networking !!

                            Once you boot up, try connecting with wi fi

                            JulieMills

                              Topic Starter


                              Rookie

                              Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                              « Reply #32 on: August 02, 2010, 09:14:24 AM »
                              In safe mode WITH NETWORKING and the song is the same - it's saying I'm connected to the HomeHub (router), but I have no internet access  ???

                              grandpa_simpson

                              • Guest
                              Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                              « Reply #33 on: August 02, 2010, 09:20:51 AM »
                              What's the make/model of the laptop ?


                               


                              I have to go for now... be back later, if you haven't fixed it...  Post your specs..



                              Allan

                              • Moderator

                              • Mastermind
                              • Thanked: 1211
                              • Experience: Guru
                              • OS: Windows 10
                              Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                              « Reply #34 on: August 02, 2010, 09:27:42 AM »
                              Please try the wired connection.

                              JulieMills

                                Topic Starter


                                Rookie

                                Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                « Reply #35 on: August 02, 2010, 12:40:08 PM »
                                Can't get online with wired connection as I'm not sure of passwords, etc to set up a new connection.
                                The make/model of my laptop is: Sony Vaio VPCEB1EOE

                                Allan

                                • Moderator

                                • Mastermind
                                • Thanked: 1211
                                • Experience: Guru
                                • OS: Windows 10
                                Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                « Reply #36 on: August 02, 2010, 12:59:35 PM »
                                you shouldn't need a password to set up a connection. It should just be plug & play.

                                JulieMills

                                  Topic Starter


                                  Rookie

                                  Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                  « Reply #37 on: August 02, 2010, 01:22:48 PM »
                                  Just tried again and it's not recognising the connection....?

                                  grandpa_simpson

                                  • Guest
                                  Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                  « Reply #38 on: August 02, 2010, 04:09:42 PM »
                                  Download this (WinsockFix) from another computer and put it on a thumb drive..

                                  http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Network-Tweak/WinSockFix.shtml

                                  Run it on the problem laptop, reboot and try connecting via wifi


                                  grandpa_simpson

                                  • Guest
                                  Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                  « Reply #39 on: August 02, 2010, 05:49:09 PM »
                                  btw, what did you ping earlier ?

                                  It wouldn't make any sense to trying pinging a website, but pinging the default gateway would determine a certain level of functionality..

                                  PING 192.168.1.254


                                  is what you should have done...

                                  JulieMills

                                    Topic Starter


                                    Rookie

                                    Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                    « Reply #40 on: August 03, 2010, 12:21:55 AM »
                                    btw, what did you ping earlier ?

                                    It wouldn't make any sense to trying pinging a website, but pinging the default gateway would determine a certain level of functionality..

                                    PING 192.168.1.254


                                    is what you should have done...
                                    Pinging IP worked - what does that tell us (by us I mean you, it clearly tells me nothing!)
                                    I'm not sure what a thumb drive is  ???

                                    grandpa_simpson

                                    • Guest
                                    Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                    « Reply #41 on: August 03, 2010, 01:01:06 AM »
                                    Pinging IP worked -

                                    That confirms that you don't have a hardware problem anywhere.  This is clearly a software problem...  A thumb drive is a flash drive, you know, those little memory sticks that you store on your keychain ?  They have a million names and they go into a USB port.

                                    Download that program from another computer, put it on a thumb drive, walk it over to your problem laptop and run WinsockFix, reboot the comupter and try connecting via wifi...   If it doesn't work, the only other thing I can suggest is using a bootable anti-virus program to check for viruses or backing up all your data and reinstalling...  I don't think it's worth putting much more time into..

                                    JulieMills

                                      Topic Starter


                                      Rookie

                                      Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                      « Reply #42 on: August 03, 2010, 01:16:27 AM »
                                      I'll give all that a go then! Many thanks  :)

                                      grandpa_simpson

                                      • Guest
                                      Re: Connected, but unable to access internet...?
                                      « Reply #43 on: August 03, 2010, 01:22:32 AM »
                                      yep     :)