Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Windows 7 Usb and permission  (Read 4949 times)

Redcaa

Topic Starter

Intermediate

• [Insert Personal Text]
    • Experience: Beginner
    Windows 7 Usb and permission
    « on: November 08, 2010, 03:58:47 PM »
    I'm very new to Windows 7, having used Windows XP for a long time. So I have no clue about anything. I plugged in my external USB device, a window appeared saying that, do I want to scan the USB device for problems and fix them (Cksum or something). So I was unsure whether to do the scan or not
    because the USB device worked perfectly on another (XP) computer. So I said no and carried on, autoplay came I selected show in folder. It did.

Problems:

-Ico file didn't show up (viewed as thumbnails)
    -When I tried to open a folder it said i didn't have admin permissions (I only have one account and it has admin facilities) so then it said to go to the security tab I did and when to the screen where you can choose who has what rights. I checked all boxes for E:/, like Write, Read, Edit and stuff but then a load of popups come saying that the USB is corrupted so it could not save the changes. On Windows XP it works fine.

I don't want to scan and fix the problems because I'm worried whether or not after these fixes it would work on XP.

Thank you very  much :)

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
    • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • BC-Programming.com
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    Re: Windows 7 Usb and permission
    « Reply #1 on: November 08, 2010, 04:23:18 PM »
    The problems do exist. Fix them.

It works fine with XP because XP:

-doesn't care wether the device works or not. It just accesses it. You have to scan it manually.