Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: unequally slow performance  (Read 4115 times)

Dr._Jalali

unequally slow performance
« on: August 13, 2005, 12:39:24 PM »
Hello friends.  You all have come through for me everytime I have written, so here's hoping on this one.
 As some of you know, I am a newbie with an oldbie computer--pentium 2, windows CP IE 6.  And, I am doing online teaching.  We use moodle.  Recently, our moodle was moved from the university site to a host that the unviersity hoped could help with technie things. Since that move, i have trouble navigating the moodle.  It goes either really really slowly, or theh computer hangs.  I know, go ask moodle you say?  I did.  They said, it must be the server.  I don't really know what that means.  I wrote to the techies that are supposed to be dealing with our techie probs and he said--1. He deals with techie probls of the college, not the faculty (how is that different? who knows.) 2--No other faculty is having my probl.  So I gave a friend of mine my password to enter the site, and sure enough, she didn't have any problem either, moved smoothly for her.  But not for me, and I am the one who has to put up all the exams and stuff there. I would even put up with the slow working--I file my nails, clean out my drawers, etc while it moves from page to page.  But the hanging is just too much.  So, here comes my question: ::) What can I do on this end to make things better?  is it really my  probl?  Why doesn't it  happen on all moodle sites, just this one?  Should I dump my IE and get a different browser?  I want to keep this job and can't aford to update my compie until I am working there long enough to make some $.  But if I keep hanging on their site, and they can't help me. . . .  So, puleez, some solutions-something that a newbie can understand ;)  thanks so much
dr j

Raptor

Re: unequally slow performance