Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: WINE question  (Read 11286 times)

DaveLembke

Topic Starter

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
WINE question
« on: October 16, 2011, 07:55:42 PM »
So I was thinking about replacing Windows with Linux such as Ubuntu or Fedora and use WINE for my games that are mostly Win32 based.

Is it worth making the migration to Linux with WINE to run my games or do you think it will be more of a problem trying to get the Win32 games to run under Linux? I have heard of WINE being used to run Win32 applications, but I have never used it before to know just how good it is at running cross platform software and more specifically games.

I have heard of people playing World of Warcraft the game I play the most thru Linux and using Ubuntu and they claim to have used WINE, but this was just a conversation in chat channel. My system requirements shouldnt be a problem for drivers since I am using GeForce video etc.

BC_Programmer

Mastermind
  • Typing is no substitute for thinking.
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • BC-Programming.com
  • Experience: Beginner
Re: WINE question
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 08:09:50 PM »
For the most part, getting Windows games working on Linux through WINE is like trying to put a diaper on an incontinent buffalo. Most of the time it's just not possible and if you do succeed you will almost always be left with a gigantic mess.
I was trying to dereference Null Pointers before it was cool.

DaveLembke

Topic Starter

Sage
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2011, 02:41:00 PM »