Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: I cannot access the internet.  (Read 31256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jim.mar

    Topic Starter


    Apprentice
  • Long in the tooth, shy between the ears
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #90 on: February 28, 2012, 08:57:44 AM »
OK I will run the Eset scan as requested in Reply #61...    Meanwhile here is the Eset log from Feb 8 2012.

C:\Program Files (x86)\EpicPlay\epicPlayGames.dll   a variant of Win32/Adware.Gamevance.BI application   cleaned by deleting (after the next restart) - quarantined
C:\Users\JIM\AppData\Local\Temp\NODC07B.tmp   a variant of Win32/Adware.Gamevance.BI application   cleaned by deleting (after the next restart) - quarantined
C:\Users\JIM\Downloads\freeripmp3-setup.exe   multiple threats   deleted - quarantined
You are much appreciated..     Thank you ,

jim.mar

    Topic Starter


    Apprentice
  • Long in the tooth, shy between the ears
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #91 on: February 28, 2012, 11:13:19 AM »
SuperDAve:   Hey hey,  got it this time.  Scan took almost two hours, found one infected file..  Report follows:


Esets scan log done on Feb 28 20121

C:\Users\JIM\Downloads\freeripmp3-setup.exe   multiple threats   deleted - quarantined

That   "C:\Users\JIM\Downloads\freeripmp3-setup.exe"  found on Feb 8 shows up again.  Could I have somehow inherited that again?/

What do you think??
You are much appreciated..     Thank you ,

SuperDave

  • Malware Removal Specialist
  • Moderator


  • Genius
  • Thanked: 996
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 8
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #92 on: February 28, 2012, 11:55:58 AM »
Quote
Could I have somehow inherited that again?/
What do you think??
We thought that you may have been re-infected. That's why we ran most of the scans the second time. Let's do some cleanup. You may keep SAS and MBAM on your computer. Update them and run them on a regular basis.
You should get rid of this: C:\Users\JIM\Downloads\freeripmp3-setup.exe


To remove all of the tools we used and the files and folders they created do the following:
Double click OTL.exe.
  • Click the CleanUp button.
  • Select Yes when the "Begin cleanup Process?" prompt appears.
  • If you are prompted to Reboot during the cleanup, select Yes.
  • The tool will delete itself once it finishes.
Note: If any tool, file or folder (belonging to the program we have used) hasn't been deleted, please delete it manually.
************************************************************
Clean out your temporary internet files and temp files.

Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop.

Double-click TFC.exe to run it.

Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator

TFC will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.

* Click the Start button to begin the cleaning process.
* Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two.
* Please let TFC run uninterrupted until it is finished.

Once TFC is finished it should restart your computer. If it does not, please manually restart the computer yourself to ensure a complete cleaning.
******************************************************
To set a new Restore Point.

Click Start button , click Control Panel, click System and Maintenance, and then clicking System. In the left pane, click System Protection.  If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation. To turn off System Protection for a hard disk, clear the check box next to the disk, and then click OK. Reboot to Normal Mode.
Click the Start button , click Control Panel, click System and Maintenance, and then click System.
In the left pane, click System Protection.  If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.
To turn on System Protection for a hard disk, select the check box next to the disk, and then click OK.
This will give you a new, clean Restore Point.
********************************************************
Use the Secunia Software Inspector to check for out of date software.

•Click Start Now

•Check the box next to Enable thorough system inspection.

•Click Start

•Allow the scan to finish and scroll down to see if any updates are needed.
•Update anything listed.
.
----------

Go to Microsoft Windows Update and get all critical updates.

----------

I suggest using WOT - Web of Trust. WOT is a free Internet security addon for your browser. It will keep you safe from online scams, identity theft, spyware, spam, viruses and unreliable shopping sites. WOT warns you before you interact with a risky website. It's easy and it's free.

SpywareBlaster- Secure your Internet Explorer to make it harder for ActiveX programs to run on your computer. Also stop certain cookies from being added to your computer when running Mozilla based browsers like Firefox.
* Using SpywareBlaster to protect your computer from Spyware and Malware
* If you don't know what ActiveX controls are, see here

Protect yourself against spyware using the Immunize feature in Spybot - Search & Destroy. Guide: Use Spybot's Immunize Feature to prevent spyware infection in real-time. Note: To ensure you have the latest Immunizations always update Spybot - Search & Destroy before Immunizing. Spybot - Search & Destroy FAQ

Check out Keeping Yourself Safe On The Web for tips and free tools to help keep you safe in the future.

Also see Slow Computer? It may not be Malware for free cleaning/maintenance tools to help keep your computer running smoothly.
Safe Surfing!
Intel(R) Core (TM) i3-3220 CPU 3.30 GHz 8.0 Gb RAM Windows 8.1 with a dual boot to Windows XP  Home with SP3, Comodo  with Windows Firewall & Windows Defender

jim.mar

    Topic Starter


    Apprentice
  • Long in the tooth, shy between the ears
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #93 on: March 08, 2012, 02:57:23 PM »
SuperDave:  OK done.   The machine is running well.    I want to thank you again for all your help and patience.

I have one problem tho.   Everytime I boot up I get the message

"WZFSLDR2.exe - Entry point not found .
The procedure entry point  -  spdGetReady - -  could not be located in the dynamic link library wlanapi.dll"

 I understand that it is a registry problem and I am afraid to try to fix it with some recommendations on the net.   Do you have any ideas or is this another subjectfor another area??

Thanks again   JIM
You are much appreciated..     Thank you ,

SuperDave

  • Malware Removal Specialist
  • Moderator


  • Genius
  • Thanked: 996
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 8
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #94 on: March 08, 2012, 04:19:18 PM »
Let's check out that file.

Please go to Jotti's malware scan
(If more than one file needs scanned they must be done separately and links posted for each one)

* Copy the file path in the below Code box:

Code: [Select]
WZFSLDR2.exe 
* At the upload site, click once inside the window next to Browse.
* Press Ctrl+V on the keyboard (both at the same time) to paste the file path into the window.
* Next click Submit file
* Your file will possibly be entered into a queue which normally takes less than a minute to clear.
* This will perform a scan across multiple different virus scanning engines.
* Important: Wait for all of the scanning engines to complete.
* Once the scan is finished, Copy and then Paste the link in the address bar into your next reply.
Intel(R) Core (TM) i3-3220 CPU 3.30 GHz 8.0 Gb RAM Windows 8.1 with a dual boot to Windows XP  Home with SP3, Comodo  with Windows Firewall & Windows Defender

jim.mar

    Topic Starter


    Apprentice
  • Long in the tooth, shy between the ears
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #95 on: March 08, 2012, 04:50:29 PM »
I tried that.  Got the JOTTI web site but was unable to copy (or type) anything into the browse window.    HOwever, I mis-typed . . .   the entry point should have read WZCSLDR2.exe
You are much appreciated..     Thank you ,

SuperDave

  • Malware Removal Specialist
  • Moderator


  • Genius
  • Thanked: 996
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 8
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #96 on: March 09, 2012, 11:48:57 AM »
I tried that.  Got the JOTTI web site but was unable to copy (or type) anything into the browse window.    HOwever, I mis-typed . . .   the entry point should have read WZCSLDR2.exe
That file belongs to this program: Program Files\ANI\ANIWZCS2 Service. Do you have that program on your computer?
Intel(R) Core (TM) i3-3220 CPU 3.30 GHz 8.0 Gb RAM Windows 8.1 with a dual boot to Windows XP  Home with SP3, Comodo  with Windows Firewall & Windows Defender

jim.mar

    Topic Starter


    Apprentice
  • Long in the tooth, shy between the ears
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #97 on: March 09, 2012, 12:50:05 PM »
YES, I have  it in C:\ProgramFiles(x86) but not in C:\Program Files.   I do not know why I have both Program Files and Program Files(x86).
You are much appreciated..     Thank you ,

SuperDave

  • Malware Removal Specialist
  • Moderator


  • Genius
  • Thanked: 996
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 8
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #98 on: March 09, 2012, 07:24:43 PM »
WZCSLDR3.exe is part of the drivers for various wireless networking cards made by Alpha Networks. This is an OEM manufacturer of wireless logic (as opposed to a company that makes end products), so your system may be using their products even if there's nothing in it with that label. Should be considered part of your drivers and left alone, or your wireless connection won't work.
Intel(R) Core (TM) i3-3220 CPU 3.30 GHz 8.0 Gb RAM Windows 8.1 with a dual boot to Windows XP  Home with SP3, Comodo  with Windows Firewall & Windows Defender

jim.mar

    Topic Starter


    Apprentice
  • Long in the tooth, shy between the ears
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #99 on: March 19, 2012, 04:10:11 PM »
  SuperDave:   Sorry I took so long getting back.        OK, as I said, it is in C:\ProgramFiles(x86) but not in C:\ProgramFiles.    Should I copy it from one to the other via Windows Explorer?   The error message still pops up on  a fresh boot after complete shut down but not after restoring coming out of "hibernate".    Or should I just lie with it?   The machine seems to be working just fine.
You are much appreciated..     Thank you ,

SuperDave

  • Malware Removal Specialist
  • Moderator


  • Genius
  • Thanked: 996
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 8
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #100 on: March 19, 2012, 04:29:11 PM »
Quote
C:\ProgramFiles(x86)
This means that your computer is a l4 bit computer as opposed to 32 bit. Most newer computers are 64 bit.
Quote
Or should I just live with it?   The machine seems to be working just fine.
I'm pleased that the computer is running well but I can't help you much more with that error problem. Perhaps you could start a new thread in a different forum on this site.
Intel(R) Core (TM) i3-3220 CPU 3.30 GHz 8.0 Gb RAM Windows 8.1 with a dual boot to Windows XP  Home with SP3, Comodo  with Windows Firewall & Windows Defender

GlitchPC

  • Guest
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #101 on: March 19, 2012, 08:39:34 PM »

jim.mar

    Topic Starter


    Apprentice
  • Long in the tooth, shy between the ears
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
  • OS: Windows 7
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #102 on: March 20, 2012, 12:01:46 PM »
SuperDave:  OK,  thank you again so much for your time and patience on this problem.   You guys do a terific job helping us out.    Bless you,  JIM
You are much appreciated..     Thank you ,

SuperDave

  • Malware Removal Specialist
  • Moderator


  • Genius
  • Thanked: 996
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
  • OS: Windows 8
Re: I cannot access the internet.
« Reply #103 on: March 20, 2012, 04:30:27 PM »
You're welcome. I will lock this thread. If you need it re-opened, please send me a pm.
Intel(R) Core (TM) i3-3220 CPU 3.30 GHz 8.0 Gb RAM Windows 8.1 with a dual boot to Windows XP  Home with SP3, Comodo  with Windows Firewall & Windows Defender