Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Better home brew or Refurbished?  (Read 11950 times)

Geek-9pm

Topic Starter

Mastermind
  • Geek After Dark
    • Gekk9pm bnlog
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Better home brew or Refurbished?
« on: February 13, 2012, 11:12:37 AM »
Better home brew or Refurbished?

Rather that build a PC from scratch, I think buying a certified ** refurbished PC and doing upgrades is quicker and cheaper.
Right or Wrong?

If right, what is the best choice of a used desktop under $40? (No monitor, keyboard or mouse.)

If wrong, what is the best home-brew under $400. (Also no monitor, keyboard or mouse.)

I am uncertain of the right answer, I am an experienced builder, but I don't think building is cheaper, even with free labor. Prove me wrong, pleas. And if cost is not the main objective, what is?

**( Microsoft certifies a few companies to reload OEM Windows on a reconditioned Desktop PC. No install CD included. You must backup.)

Footnote. Yes, in some countries home brew is cheaper because of national taxes on import of  finished products.

Computer Hope Admin

• Administrator

• Prodigy

• Yes
    • Yes
    • Yes
    • Computer Hope
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Guru
Re: Better home brew or Refurbished?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2012, 12:51:28 AM »
I think the answer is going to boil down to what the specifications on the refurbished computer are and what parts you could get for a home-brewed computer. Overall I still think that you're going to get a better bang for the buck with a home-brewed computer than you would with a refurbished computer, although you may get a 1-year warranty on a refurbished computer.

Also, if you're building your own computer and using parts from another computer (e.g. CD-ROM, HDD, fans, etc.) you'd definitely be saving even more money when compared to a refurbished computer.