Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Ubuntu Won't Accept Wireless Password  (Read 14155 times)

Accessless

Topic Starter

Adviser
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
Ubuntu Won't Accept Wireless Password
« on: March 02, 2012, 04:21:05 AM »
Please bare with me and be patient I'm somewhat new to Linux, I'm trying out various alternative OS's, so give it to me in laymen's terms.

Now down to the problem; I already have an existing installation of Windows XP and 7, these both connect to the wireless network no problem. But my newly installed Ubuntu 11.10 only connected once on first intall but now will not. It asks for the password, tries to connect fails and asks me for the password again. My first approach was human error (am I typing in the wrong password) but it is the right password. As soon as I find out what network card I am using I will try drivers from the manufacturer. In the mean time does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do?

Raptor

Re: Ubuntu Won't Accept Wireless Password
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 04:50:41 AM »
Please bare with me

Maybe if you buy me a few drinks ...

There's no such thing as a network "password"; are you sure you're not trying to type the network key in the password prompt that is meant to elevate your privileges?

Because that requires the password of your administrator account in Linux and not the network key...

Accessless

Topic Starter

Adviser
    • Yes
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 05:27:17 AM »
As the passwords are the same I'm pretty sure that it's not the case. That and I'm sure it's asking for the network password or key, or whatever else you want to call it.

I was meant to add that I idiot proofed the passwords. (Although the numberlock frequently gets the better of me)

Also my computer does not like sending liquids via the internet. It just sparks and crackles...

Salmon Trout