Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: YIKES....Erased my BINARY VALUE?  (Read 3030 times)

MomNEEDShelp

Topic Starter

Hopeful

YIKES....Erased my BINARY VALUE?
    « on: December 02, 2012, 08:00:22 PM »
    MY windows 7 pc (HP Slimline - About 2 yrs old) was in the middle of a simple update and froze up. I had to pull the plug to shut pc after a full day of it being frozen. Anyway, went to Google to find a fix and someone recommended F8 upon start-up and then to start up in safe mode with networking. (That is what woked for them)  Anyway, I did this and erased my Binary Value! I have come to discover this means I erased my operating system. (I am not technical)

Anyway, I spoke to my cable provider thinking they could help and they could not, of course. Although, the tech rep I got said all I had to do was get a Windows 7 disc and toss it in my pc and it would start to re-install itself. I thought "WOW", that is easy. Then I spoke to someone else and they said it's fairly difficult unless you knw what you are doing. (Backing up files had to be done and other stuff) YIKES!!

So, this is my last attempt before I either call Microsoft back and give them $149 to have them write me a new Binary Value....or try Best Buy's geek squad. (Nt sure what they will charge)
    My question.... Is there an easy way to re-install Windows without being very pc savy OR is this a job for the pros???

truenorth

Guru

Re: YIKES....Erased my BINARY VALUE?
      « Reply #1 on: December 09, 2012, 12:05:05 PM »