Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Laptop Question  (Read 4758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Andrew Grant

  • Guest
Laptop Question
« on: October 10, 2005, 10:15:56 PM »
I switched hard drives between my two laptops and now the one I'm currently working on doesn't display the processor speed correctly. Is this limiting the performence or is it just simply not showing the right numbers?

This is a Dell Latitude L400 700 mhz 20 gig hard drive. (It displays the processor speed as 497 mhz)

GX1_Man

  • Moderator

  • Mastermind

  • Because beige is beautiful !!!
  • Thanked: 24
    Re: Laptop Question
    « Reply #1 on: October 11, 2005, 08:30:41 AM »
    Are you talking about the processor speed in the BIOS or in some application? If the BIOS is what you're referring to, clear the NVRAM and recheck. If is is in a program, the ultimate solution would be to uninstall and reinstall if there are no settings for a rescan.

    Please post as much information about your computer, operating system, and problem as possible, what happened prior to problems, etc. Too much info is OK, too little is pointless! Don't just say "My computer doesn't work. What's wrong?"

    Andrew Grant

    • Guest
    Re: Laptop Question
    « Reply #2 on: October 11, 2005, 09:25:11 AM »
    The bios displays the processor speed correctly, it's just when I right click My Computer and go to properties when it displays the 497 insead of 700 mhz.

    Andrew Grant

    • Guest
    Re: Laptop Question
    « Reply #3 on: October 11, 2005, 09:28:04 AM »
    The bios displays the processor speed correctly, it's just when I right click My Computer and go to properties when it displays the 497 insead of 700 mhz.

    GX1_Man

    • Moderator

    • Mastermind

    • Because beige is beautiful !!!
    • Thanked: 24
      Re: Laptop Question
      « Reply #4 on: October 11, 2005, 03:38:16 PM »
      It sounds like a Windows quirk to me. Does the laptop see, as fast? If so, I would just let it go until your next reinstall. I'll bet that gets it recognized jsut fine.
      Please post as much information about your computer, operating system, and problem as possible, what happened prior to problems, etc. Too much info is OK, too little is pointless! Don't just say "My computer doesn't work. What's wrong?"

      Computer_Commando

      • Guest
      Re: Laptop Question
      « Reply #5 on: October 11, 2005, 05:05:37 PM »
      Download Everest Home Edition for free.
      http://www.lavalys.com/

      Andrew Grant

      • Guest
      Re: Laptop Question
      « Reply #6 on: October 11, 2005, 08:15:30 PM »
      Is the program supposed to fix the problem or just scan and tell me what it finds?

      GX1_Man

      • Moderator

      • Mastermind

      • Because beige is beautiful !!!
      • Thanked: 24
        Re: Laptop Question
        « Reply #7 on: October 11, 2005, 08:29:26 PM »
        Scan and give you all kinds of information about your hardware.

        :D :D :D :D :D
        Please post as much information about your computer, operating system, and problem as possible, what happened prior to problems, etc. Too much info is OK, too little is pointless! Don't just say "My computer doesn't work. What's wrong?"

        Andrew Grant

        • Guest
        Re: Laptop Question
        « Reply #8 on: October 11, 2005, 08:41:27 PM »
        Scanned my computer and it reported back that my processor speed is 500 mhz. Not sure what it means. Maybe I was mistaken when I thought this laptop was 700 mhz but I was sure thats what I saw.

        GX1_Man

        • Moderator

        • Mastermind

        • Because beige is beautiful !!!
        • Thanked: 24
          Re: Laptop Question
          « Reply #9 on: October 11, 2005, 08:45:26 PM »
          You said the F2 screen showed 700? Please look at that again. If you can post the service tag (located on the machine) we can look up what it is supposed to be. That will remove all doubt.
          Please post as much information about your computer, operating system, and problem as possible, what happened prior to problems, etc. Too much info is OK, too little is pointless! Don't just say "My computer doesn't work. What's wrong?"

          Andrew Grant

          • Guest
          Re: Laptop Question
          « Reply #10 on: October 11, 2005, 11:02:04 PM »
          Yes, the bios displays 700 mhz.

          The service tag is JYYCV01

          GX1_Man

          • Moderator

          • Mastermind

          • Because beige is beautiful !!!
          • Thanked: 24
            Re: Laptop Question
            « Reply #11 on: October 11, 2005, 11:10:48 PM »
            OK, that's a Latitude L-400 which did originally come with a 700 Mhz Processor that originally shipped 9/6/01 with the following components.

            1 7344T ASSEMBLY, BEZEL, KEYBOARD, PLASTIC, PENTIUM III, LASER

            1 7804T KEYBOARD, 84, DOCUMENT OBJECT MODEL, NOTEBOOK, PENTIUM III, LASER

            1 94TKJ ASSEMBLY, BASE (ASSEMBLY OR GROUP), PENTIUM III, 700MHZ, LATCHED ADDRESS, ATLAS 2

            1 09RMF ASSEMBLY, CABLE, CORD, LS-LST

            1 23MRD ASSEMBLY, FLOPPY DRIVE, W/BAY, LATITUDE, ATLAS 2

            1 9834T ASSEMBLY, ADAPTER, ALTERNATING CURRENT, 19V, 50W, 3WIRE, LASER

            1 9625R CASE, CARRYING, LEATHER, NOTEBOOK, CHIP SET

            1 5395P DUAL IN-LINE MEMORY MODULE, 128, 100M, 16X64, 4K, 144

            1 942RV BATTERY, 37WHR, 11.1V, 6CELL, LS/L400

            1 36MNT BATTERY, 37WH, 11.1V, 6CELL, SECOND, ATLAS 2

            1 0E329 HARD DRIVE, 20GB, I, 2.5" FORM FACTOR, 9.5MM, IBM-DIABLO

            1 1144T ASSEMBLY, CARRIER, HARD DRIVE, NOTEBOOK, LASER

            1 9C209 PRINTED WIRING BOARD, INTERFACE, HARD DRIVE, NOTEBOOK, L400/I2100

            1 1F756 KIT, SOFTWARE, OVERPACK, WINDOWS 2000 PROFESSIONAL, SP2, 5.25" FORM FACTOR, ENGLAND/ENGLISH

            Did you do the belarc download yet??
            ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
            Please post as much information about your computer, operating system, and problem as possible, what happened prior to problems, etc. Too much info is OK, too little is pointless! Don't just say "My computer doesn't work. What's wrong?"

            Andrew Grant

            • Guest
            Re: Laptop Question
            « Reply #12 on: October 11, 2005, 11:15:08 PM »
            belarc?

            GX1_Man

            • Moderator

            • Mastermind

            • Because beige is beautiful !!!
            • Thanked: 24
              Re: Laptop Question
              « Reply #13 on: October 11, 2005, 11:28:36 PM »
              www.belarc.com

              download Belarc Advisor (free) and run it. See what that says about your processor.
              Please post as much information about your computer, operating system, and problem as possible, what happened prior to problems, etc. Too much info is OK, too little is pointless! Don't just say "My computer doesn't work. What's wrong?"

              Andrew Grant

              • Guest
              Re: Laptop Question
              « Reply #14 on: October 12, 2005, 12:01:45 AM »
              A friend suggested updating the bios so I did and I now get 697 mhz when I re-scan with Belarc. Thanks for all your help.  ;D