Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Media Server Problems  (Read 7767 times)

Accessless

Topic Starter

Adviser
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
Media Server Problems
« on: January 02, 2015, 02:14:20 PM »
First off I would like to point out that I'm not good with networking.

OK, so I recently decided to connect an old USB hard drive to my router to store films on. The PCs have no problem accessing the files from the network drive, however the DVD player would only work if I set up a media server. The problem that I'm encountering is that only one file is appearing on the media server. I originally thought that the file types were the problem but converting a video to the same format as the one working video made no difference. So now I'm confused.

Any helpful suggestions or theories?

Router is a TP-Link Archer C7

DaveLembke

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
Re: Media Server Problems
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2015, 06:12:42 AM »
Is this one file that is seen by the DVD player located at the root of the drive, lowest level such as if the drive was Z: the file would be within the root of that drive at say Z:\video.avi whereas videos that are not found by the DVD player are located in directory trees where the DVD player may not have the ability to navigate depth to access these at say Z:\videos\christmas2014.avi

If this is the case, then you can locate all videos at the root of the drive.

Also I have heard of some players getting choked up on file size where say a 100MB file will play fine, but a 4GB file will not play, and this is because the player reads in the video to local memory before playing because it can not buffer on the fly the data, so if a video exceeds the internal memory of the player then it doesnt matter what format the video is, its clearly too large to be played.