Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Restart Loop and "Other User" On Login Screen After System Refresh  (Read 8554 times)

AmberInSweden

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

• Experience: Beginner
    Restart Loop and "Other User" On Login Screen After System Refresh
    « on: September 11, 2015, 04:02:01 PM »
    Total novice here: I am hoping someone can give me some guidance. My brother-in-law was my computer man and he passed away recently. I may have just messed everything up and I have no one to help.

My notebook, an Acer E1 series running Windows 10 without issue until today, slapped me with a black screen with a cursor and nothing else. (This happened while trying to close out of pretty heavy video game for the first time.) Restarting, the Acer logo came up, but then it went back to the black screen with cursor. Control+alt+delete did nothing. Sticky keys did nothing. I tried all diagnostics in the start screens. Automatic repair did nothing. I searched around and read that I could try running chkdsk and that brought up a lot of bad clusters. After that, I moved past the black screen to the login screen. Now, instead of having my username, it simply said Other User and had a blank login screen with "Sign in to: MYCOMPUTERNAME" below it. When I tried to log in using my username, I get stuck in a reboot loop. I could open in safe mode, but nothing else. I did a system refresh. Nothing changed. I mean, my programs are all gone, but outside of safe mode, it's still acting the same. I get to the login screen, OTHER USER, enter my username and password, hit enter, computer reboots. I just discovered if I don't enter my username, it eventually reboots anyway. Rinse. Repeat. Safe mode still works.

Does anyone have any idea if I can do anything to fix it? I am moving all important files over to a hard drive currently.  :-[ I would be so grateful for any help.

patio

• Genius