Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: I need help with Linux technical terms  (Read 10833 times)

floccinaucini

Topic Starter

Intermediate

• Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
I need help with Linux technical terms
« on: October 13, 2015, 11:27:06 AM »
Could someone please tell me what is meant by the following terms: Distro, Debian, Ubuntu and Kubuntu. I want to get a Linux Operating System, but I need to know what these mean before I can do that. I am reading about these but I have difficulty in understanding them properly. A simple explanation would be appreciated.

Also if there are tutorials here about Linux, please direct me to those.

Thank you.
Loraine

Calum

• Egghead

• Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Beginner
Re: I need help with Linux technical terms
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2015, 12:41:53 PM »
I'm not a Linux expert by any means, have only fooled around with it, but I can help a little :)
Distro = a version, or distribution, of Linux.  Ubuntu, Debian, Slax are three examples of distros.  Some are very similar and some are wildly different to each other, they may vary in the included software, driver/hardware support, default desktop environment and theme, or many other items.
Debian, Ubuntu and Kubuntu are all distributions of Linux, some of the better known ones in fact.  Kubuntu and Ubuntu are quite closely related.

I'll leave it for others who are more experienced to give you a better explanation but hopefully that's of some help?

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
  • Geek After Dark
    • Gekk9pm bnlog
  • Experience: Expert
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2015, 01:39:11 PM »
Here is a document that can help anyone to understand Linux.
http://www.tldp.org/LDP/Linux-Dictionary/Linux-Dictionary.pdf