Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Sort software  (Read 3653 times)

PhilClark

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

• Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
Sort software
« on: September 18, 2016, 01:52:26 AM »
Greetings, I am completely new here.   First a moan - the CAPTCHA verification system used by this site is discriminatory against people like me who are visually disabled - why is it allowed?

OK, my software problem.

I am looking for an equivalent, preferably free, for RPSORT.COM which will work with 64-bit Windows 7 machines.   I know that Windows supplies SORT.EXE but the problem with this is that is extremely limited in how you specify the sort fields: apparently you can only specify the start point of *one* frield and not the length of that field.   For the databases which I have been generating (all pure text) for more than 22 years I need to be able to sort on two fields, with the length for each field being specified.   For example:

RPSORT STATIONS.DAT /+3:5 /+19:14 STATIONS.SRT

Where the first sort field starts at character 3 and is 5 characters long and the second sort field starts at character 19 and it is 14 characters long.   The .DAT and .SRT files are the input and output files.

Can anyone assist by suggesting some software that I can use please?   Any help will be greatfully appreciated!

Many thanks.

Salmon Trout

Re: Sort software
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2016, 02:22:24 AM »
Did you check the thread you started 4 days ago on Superuser? Someone has suggested CMSort.

PhilClark

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2016, 02:30:19 AM »
I got a rather rude message to say that Super User wasn't there for software help, so I've not been back there.

I will have a look at CMSort - thank you.

Have now checked out CMSort ..... it looks to be for 32-bit machines, not 64-bit. :(

Salmon Trout

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2016, 03:05:29 AM »